Voting begins here Monday


While election day is not until Oct. 22, Fort Frances electors can start voting as early as this Monday (Oct. 15).
Town clerk Lisa Slomke said voter information letters have been mailed and they should arrive in your mailbox by Monday if they haven’t already.
In their letters, voters will have received a Personal Identification Number (P.I.N.) specific to them.
The letter also will include a phone number and website address.
The voter will be able to call the number or go to the website address, then use their P.I.N. number to vote, starting at 8:30 a.m. on Monday (Oct. 15) and closing at 8 p.m. on Oct. 22.
Those who did not receive their voter information letters, but are eligible to vote here, are urged to stop by the Voter Help Centre located in Council Chambers at the Civic Centre and bring appropriate identification with them, Slomke noted.
The help centre staff also will aid those who may be uncomfortable voting using the phone or a computer (election staff will have phones and computers there).
The help centre will be open during normal business hours from 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. next Monday to Friday, and again on Monday, Oct. 22 from 10 a.m.-8 p.m.
Additionally, a travelling voter help centre will be set up Monday from 1-3 p.m. at Rainycrest Long-Term Care Home, Wednesday from 1-3 p.m. at La Verendrye General Hospital (extended care wing), and Thursday from 1-3 p.m. at Columbus Place on Nelson Street.
Those without a computer at home always can come to the Civic Centre during the above times or use the computers at the public library.
In response to a few inquires from electors, Slomke clarified that while the voter information letter says “vote for six candidates,” voters do not have to vote for six councillor candidates if they don’t want to.
They can vote for up to six.
“When you log into the site, it’s going to say, ‘Select a maximum of six,'” Slomke noted, adding the instructions also indicate electors can vote for up to one candidate for mayor and up to two for public school board trustee.
As previously reported, June Caul and Ken Perry are vying for mayor while Michael Behan, Wendy Brunetta, Clinton Gray, Andrew Hallikas, Harold Huntley, Douglas Judson, John McTaggart, and Rick Wiedenhoeft are running for the six councillor seats.
Stephanie Berger, Michael Graham, Peter Howie, David Kircher, Raymond Roy, and Rudolf Zeitlhofer are competing for the two trustee seats on the Rainy River District School Board.
There is no Fort Frances election for the Northwest Catholic District School Board as candidates Cathy Piotrowski and Donald Marquis will be acclaimed.