School boards elect chairs, vice-chairs


Familiar faces are returning to chair the local public and separate school boards following elections at their respective monthly meetings last night.
Returning as chair of the Rainy River District School Board is Dan Belluz, who represents the Town of Fort Frances and the unorganized areas east of town.
“I’m very pleased of the confidence that the board has shown in re-electing me for another year,” noted Belluz.
“I’m looking forward the following year.
“This is the last year of our current term, and there’s—I think—a lot of exciting things coming to the board over the next year,” Belluz added.
Atikokan trustee Judy Eluik was re-elected as vice-chair of the public board.
Meanwhile, Fort Frances trustee Anne-Marie Fitzgerald is returning for a second year as chair of the Northwest Catholic District School Board.
She could not be reached for comment prior to press time this morning.
Sioux Lookout trustee Cathy Bowen was elected as vice-chair.
This is the final year of the four-year terms of the current school boards.