Jamie Mountain

Fort Frances council candidate John McTaggart talked about his campaign brochure with local resident Chris Lowe during a meet-and-greet event held Saturday from 10:30 a.m.-noon at the Rainy Lake Square. The seven other council candidates–Michael Behan, Wendy Brunetta, Clinton Gray, Andrew Hallikas, Harold Huntley, Douglas Judson, and Rick Wiedenhoeft–also were on hand, as were mayoral candidates June Caul and Ken Perry. Peter Howie, Dave Kircher, and Rudolf Zeitlhofer, who are vying for Fort Frances seats on the Rainy River District School Board, took part, as well, as did John Sawatzky, who is running for the Alberton/La Vallee seat on the public board.