Women’s fastball season kicks off


The Rainy River District Women’s Fastball League officially kicked off its 2018 season Monday night.
The Red Gut Babes eked out a 4-3 win over Mud Dogs.
Tracy Morningstar was the winning pitcher while Rachelle Yeo was tagged with the loss.
Alyssa Windego was named the MVP for the Red Gut Babes while Jodi Hood garnered the accolade for the Mud Dogs.
Meanwhile, the Northwest Bay Beavers cruised to a 14-6 victory over the Couchiching Lady Raiders.
Darcy Smith earned the win while Syd Jones took the loss, with the MVPs being Shae Smith (Beavers) and Jenn Singleton (Lady Raiders).
Despite a two-homer performance from Summer Leonard, it was the Herricanes who romped to a 24-10 triumph over the Manitou T-Birdies.
Dana Ward picked up the win while Casey Meyers suffered the loss.
MVP honours went to Ward and Leonard.
Elsewhere, Sara Teeple homered as the Emo Renegades routed the Fort Frances Angels 34-2.
Karma Andy garnered the win while Rylee Redford was saddled with the loss.
Teeple was the MVP for Emo while Carly Mckinnon had the honour for the Angels.
And the Big Grassy Lynx nabbed a 24-18 win over the Dawson Tigers.
Candace Handorgan got the win while Laurie Fairfield took the loss, with the MVPs being Handorgan and Shelley (Tigers).
Sabaskong Tebinaak had the bye for the night.
Tonight’s games, which start at 6:30 p.m., will see the Lady Raiders battling the Mud Dogs, the Tigers facing the T-Birdies, the Angels squaring off against Tebinaak, the Red Gut Babes tangling with the Beavers, and the Rengades taking on the Lynx.
The Herricanes have the bye.