Winkler wins Emo tourney

Winkler Flyers eked out a 3-2 victory over the Fort Frances KCs on Sunday afternoon in the final of the Emo Predators PeeWee ‘AA’ hockey tournament.
The Sioux Lookout Hawks also participated in the four-team tourney.
Kevin Schellenberg opened the scoring for Winkler from Eric Fehr midway through the first. But Fort Frances tied things up before the end of the period when Ian Lockman, assisted by Rick Ricard, hit the twine.
Fort Frances went up one at the 11-minute mark of the second frame when Clayton Windigo scored. But the lead was very short-lived as Fehr replied for Winkler just eight seconds later.
Justin Thiessen, assisted by Fehr, broke the deadlock at 10:51 of the third, which proved to be the game-winner.
In the consolation final, the Predators could not get on track against Sioux Lookout, falling behind 3-0 after two periods. The Hawks then controlled play in the third en route to an easy 7-1 victory.
Joey Harding led the way with four goals. Jake Critchley rifled home two while Shane Legros netted the other one. Jordan Wilson, assisted by Eric Mosbeck, kept the Predators from being whitewashed.
In round-robin play, the Emo Predators and KCs battled to a 2-2 tie while Winkler scored three times in the second and third periods to blank Sioux Lookout 7-0.
The KCs then beat the Hawks 4-1 in a hard-fought contest while Winkler took control right from the opening face-off to trounce Emo 11-2.
The Predators looked better against Sioux Lookout, settling for a 6-6 tie, while the KCs scored three times in the first and never looked back in their 5-1 win over Winkler 5-1.
Unfortunately for the KCs, they could not repeat that feat in the final.