Tooks win Cowboys tourney

The Fort Frances Tooks tackled everything in sight last weekend at the annual Emo Cowboys liniment league hockey tournament, going unbeaten in four games en route to capturing top honours Sunday afternoon.
L. Beck, assisted by B. Tookenay, netted the game-winner at the 6:18 mark of the third as the Tooks nipped Atikokan 2-1 in the fast-paced final.
Atikokan opened the scoring on a goal by Kehl in the first but S. Bliss knotted things up a 1-1 with an unassisted tally later in the period.
The 12-team tourney, which started Friday at the Emo-La Vallee Community Centre, also included the Fort Rangers, Kenora, Fort Sabres, Sabaskong, Raiders, Fort High Times, Dryden, Rainy River, Eagle River, and Atikokan.
Atikokan dumped Eagle River 9-1, then beat Dryden 7-2 to reach the title match. The Tooks opened play by trashing the host Cowboys 10-3, then they sidelined the Fort High Times 9-3 before edging a stubborn Kenora team 3-2 in the semi-final.
J. Grouette, assisted by B. Mainville, scored the deciding goal while Tookenay and O.J. Kennett scored second-period markers.
Kenora reached the semi-final by downing the Rangers 5-1 and upsetting the Fort Sabres 7-2.
In the B-event, Clayton Edmonson scored twice to help lead Rainy River to a 5-3 win over the Fort Rangers in the final.
Darren Davidson, Jim Chorney, and Stan Aikenhead also scored for the victors while John Cooper, Gary Swire, and Gary Noga replied for the Rangers.
Rainy River ousted Dryden 5-4 in their first game and doubled up Eagle River 4-2. Then they brushed past the Cowboys 4-1 in the semi-final on first-period goals by Derek Ewald (two), Dave Armstrong, and Daman Delvecchio.
David Kaemingh scored the Cowboys’ lone goal.
The Cowboys reached the semi-final by bouncing the Raiders 9-1 while the Rangers earned a berth in the ‘B’ final after downing Sabaskong 5-2.