Strachan named as top coach


Wayne Strachan now stands alone.
Strachan was named the SIJHL’s coach-of-the-year for an unprecedented fifth time earlier today—breaking the tie the Fort Frances Lakers’ head coach and general manager held with former Fort William North Stars’ coach Todd Howarth.
The other nominees were Kurt Walsten (Dryden GM Ice Dogs) and last year’s winner, Jeremy Adduono (Thunder Bay North Stars).
Strachan guided the Lakers to a 46-8-0-2 record—tying the franchise record for wins in a season—as Fort Frances won its third-straight regular-season title.
It’s the third time he has won the award coaching the Lakers, also capturing it in 2011 and 2014.
Strachan first earned the accolade in 2002 with the Borderland Thunder and again in 2008 with the Fort Frances Jr. Sabres.