Sports Hall of Fame announces 2022 class of inductees

Press Release

In a release today the Fort Frances Sports Hall of fame has announced the class of 2022 inductees. Members of the class include three athletes, four builders, and two teams.

The first athlete on the list to be inducted is the late Danny Johnson. Johnson played at various levels of three NHL organizations including stints with the Toronto Maple Leafs, Vancouver Canucks and Detroit Red Wings. Johnson found his stride with the Winnipeg Jets in the WHA and was named team captain in his last year before retiring.

Kelly Lyons is a Fort Frances native who succeeded in swimming and was ranked in the top 10 for her age group.

Danny Smith had a long and distinguished tenure as an athlete with Special Olympics.

There are four members in the Builder Category.

Dave Egan was a long-time minor hockey coach and was a leader in the fundraising campaign to build Ice For Kids Arena.

The 1991-93 Fort Frances Curling Club Committee is also being inducted. The committee got the new club built on Eigth Street only two years after the former club was condemned.

The late Herman Guimond was synonymous with hockey in Fort Frances and Couchiching First Nation for 40 years between the 1940s and 80s.

Terry Ogden will also be inducted for his contributions to Muskies hockey. Including Fort Frances High School’s first two gold medals in 1986 and 1989.

There are also two teams joining the Hall of Fame. The 1989 Plaza Lanes Bantam Girls Bowling Team were gold medalists. The 1986 Fort Frances High Muskie boys who won the provincial gold medal that year.

Hall of Fame Committee member Scott Fawcett says the class of inductees is unlike any other.

“This is the most divers class of inductees to enter the Hall of Fame,” Fawcett said. “Their accomplishments and contributions to sport have earned them membership in our hall. The selection committee was challenged to select these inductees from 20 nominations. Those nominees not selected for this class will be carried forward for consideration in 2025.

The new class will be inducted during a ceremony at La Place Rendezvous on Saturday, Aug. 13.