Sports briefs

The Fort Frances Minor Hockey Association handed out trophies for its Bantam ‘A’ division March 29 at the arena auditorium.
Winning the Fort Frances Chamber of Commerce Bantam ‘A’ Trophy were the Kennedy’s K-9’s, who beat Canadian Tire in overtime in the final. The Oddfellows had been the leader in round-robin play, but lost to Kennedy K-9’s and Wal-Mart in the finals.
Taking the Don Lovisa Most Valuable Player award was Alex Shoemaker, who played for the Canadian Tire Sabres, while David Moen (Oddfellows) captured the Joe Bolzan Sr. Memorial Trophy as the Most Valuable Goalie.
And the Harvey Shute Memorial trophy for the Most Dedicated Player went to Andrew Maki, who also played for the Oddfellows this past season.
The Witherspoon’s Esso medallions also were given out in three categories (each of the four local Bantam ‘A’ teams gives out medals).
For the Most Dedicated category, the winners were Matt Hebert (Wal-Mart), Nathan Calder (Canadian Tire), Ryan Shortreed (Kennedy K-9’s), and Dayton Brown/Andrew Maki (Oddfellows).
In the Most Sportsmanlike category, the recipients were T.J. Pocock (Wal-Mart), Courtney Reutzel (Canadian Tire), Darren Foster (Kennedy K-9’s), and Tyson Grinsell (Oddfellows).
And in the Most Improved category, Jason Matthews (Wal-Mart), Joe Bruyere (Canadian Tire), Jesse Ranville (Kennedy K-9’s), and Jordan Loyie (Oddfellows) took home medallions.
• • •
Even though they trailed by 12 points at the half, the ViaNets were able to exercise stifling defence and capitalzing offence to claw back and take a 63-60 decision over La Place Rendez-Vous in the Men’s Basketball League championship game on Monday night.
Leading the way for the ViaNets was Adrian Chapman with 21 points while the team’s point guard, John Laplant, had a scoring touch of 12 points. Rob McGinnis was a force underneath the boards and also collected 12 points.
Rendez-Vous, which entered the game as the two-time defending champs and the first-place team from the regular season, were led by their big men in Jeff Lallak and Brad Wardas, who both amassed 14 points, while Tobey Munroe was a threat from the outside with 11 points.
“It would’ve been nice to get that three-peat,” said Rendez-Vous player Paul Noonan, who couldn’t play Monday because of a foot ailment.
• • • 
The following Muskie badminton players are participating in a NorWOSSA qualifier in Atikokan today. The top three players in each division will move onto the NorWOSSA final, which will be held at Fort High next Wednesday.
The Muskie squad consists of Matt Badiuk, David Barron, Chelsea Bragg, Tim Bruyere, Mark Buist, Jeremy Caul, Cassie Caul, Kristina Caul, Curtis Cochrane, Tim Desjardins, Natalie Desjardins, Brooke DonioWawia, Jon Drew, Fillipe Duarte, Sandi Elliott, Justin Enge, Wyatt Hughes, Lacey Johnson, Matthew Jolicoeur, Travis Kerr, Joey Lee, John Mccormack, Sonya Schulzki, Simone Desjardins, Brittany Shine, Travis Stromness, and Taylor Wilson.
• • • 
Fort Frances dancers Taylor Langtry and Nicole Mueller, both 12 and of the “Dancin’ with Darcie” Dance Studio in International Falls, won first place in both of their duets at the Minnesota state dance competition March 19 in Minneapolis.