Sioux Lookout wins Emo tourney

The Sioux Lookout Hawks left their nest long enough to capture the ‘AA’ Atom hockey tournament Sunday afternoon in Emo with a 3-0 win over Baudette.
The smooth-skating Hawks got two goals from Shane Sakchekapo and another from Robert Burke en route to victory.
The third-place game saw McDonald’s (Fort Frances) whitewash the Kaemingh Esso Leafs (Emo) 2-0 on a pair of goals from Andrew Mueller.
Sioux Lookout opened play with a 3-1 win over McDonald’s on goals by Ryan Parent, Robbie Lawrence and Anthony Zarecki.
Andrew George replied for the Fort.
The Hawks then locked horns with Baudette for the first time, exploding for four goals in the third period to earn a 6-2 win. Danny MacIntyre led the way with two goals while Sakchekapo, Andre Sakakeesic and Parent also scored.
Ryan McInerney and Grant Slick scored for Baudette.
But Sioux Lookout wasn’t invincible during the tournament, losing 4-3 to the Leafs, who were led by Tanner Kaemingh (two), Tyler Barker and Jamie Davis.
Sakchekapo (two) and Parent hit the twine for the Hawks.
Other games saw Baudette beat McDonald’s 4-1 on the strength of Gregory Beller’s hat trick. McInerney got Baudette’s other goal while Scott Bridgeman scored the Fort’s lone goal.
Baudette then got goals from Beller (two), Geoff Slick and Grant Slick to blank the Leafs 4-0.
The Leafs got their second win at the expense of McDonald’s, a 3-0 victory on goals by Devin Allison, Tanner Kaemingh and Jamie Davis.