SIJHL names all-star teams


The SIJHL last week announced its first and second all-star teams for the 2017-18 season.
Hailey Clendenning was the lone Fort Frances Lakers’ representative after she was selected to the second all-star team as a trainer/equipment manager.
Clendenning earned honours for her significant contributions in her first season with the Lakers.
She also had been named as an athletic trainer for the league’s all-star game held in Eveleth, Mn. earlier this season.
These annual awards, presented by CCM Hockey, recognize the individual accomplishments of six forwards, four defencemen, and two goalies during the course of regular-season play in the SIJHL.
Along with the players, two head coaches, general managers, and individuals who serve in trainer and/or equipment manager capacities with their respective clubs also were honoured for their efforts this season.
Named to the first all-star team were forwards Jacen Bracko (Dryden GM Ice Dogs), Parker Simonson (Thief River Falls Norskies), and Bradley Thrower (Thunder Bay North Stars).
The defencemen are Cory Dennis (Ice Dogs) and Joe Newhouse (North Stars) while former Laker Brandon Bodnar (North Stars) was the goalie named.
Rob DeGagne (North Stars) garnered the accolade as coach while Derek Sweet-Coulter (English River Miners) was named the general manager recipient.
Bryan Coulson (Miners) earned the accolade for trainer/equipment manager.
Comprising the second-all star team were forwards Eric Stout (Ice Dogs), Michael Johnson (Norskies), and Keighan Gerrie (North Stars).
Logan Jackson (Norskies) and Kyle Auger (North Stars) were named on defence, with Bailey Schmitz (Norskies) garnering the accolade as goalie.
Cole Workman (Norskies) was named coach while Scott and Kris Kellaway were named for general manager.
The first and second team all-stars were determined by voting conducted by each of the SIJHL’s six member clubs.
Honourable mentions went to forwards Evan Walls (Ice Dogs), Mitchell Soderberg (Norskies), and Alex Maticic (North Stars), defencemen Brody Jennings (Miners) and Connor Bowey (Norskies), and goalie Michael Lenko (Miners).
Kurt Walsten (Ice Dogs) was the honourable mention for both coach and GM while Don Dowswell (North Stars) garnered consideration as trainer/equipment manager.
“We at the SIJHL congratulate each of the recipients of the CCM Hockey all-star team awards for their significant contributions and achievements during the 2017-18 regular season,” SIJHL Commissioner Bryan Graham said in a press release.
“The SIJHL would also, once again, extend our appreciation to CCM Hockey for their commitment and partnership of this, the fifth-annual CCM Hockey first and second all-star teams,” he added.