Seven Thunder named as all-stars

The Borderland Thunder hit their own version of the Super 7 jackpot yesterday.
Dryden Ice Dogs head coach Jason Tatarnic named seven Borderland Thunder players to the 20-man roster of “Team West,” which he will guide at the SIJHL’s all-star game against “Team East” this Wednesday (Jan. 28) in Dryden.
Goalie Dan Hoehne, defencemen Kurt Hogard and Clayton Windigo, and forwards Kevin Webb, Dennis Morrison, Ian Lockman, and Sean Councillor were chosen by Tatarnic, who also added nine of his own Ice Dogs and four members of the K&A Variety Golden Hawks.
Hoehne has a 10-5-1 mark this season, which ties him for third in victories in the league, as well as a 3.20 goals against average (fourth overall). His selection to the team came despite him missing five weeks with a concussion.
Hoehne will be joined between the pipes by Dryden’s Liam Johnston, who leads the SIJHL in wins (17) and is second in G.A.A.
Hogard, who led the Thunder with 10 points in the post-season last year, has come on strong after a slow start offensively to work his way into a four-way tie for the league lead in scoring among defencemen with 23 points in 28 games.
One of those tied with him is former Muskie and current Ice Dog Cody Mosbeck, who also made “Team West.”^The pair will be joined by Windigo, who has nine points and 173 penalty minutes in 30 games this season, as well as Dryden’s Pat Selin and Matt Ringheim and J.J.
Francis from the Golden Hawks.
The local contingent up front is led by Webb, whose 40 points is good for eighth in the SIJHL while his 21 goals puts him fifth overall in that category.
He will be accompanied on the forward lines by Morrison, who has 20 points in 27 games after playing last year with the Hawks.
Lockman has 17 points in 22 games to go along with his 168 penalty minutes while Councillor (nine points in 22 games) is the lone first-year junior player representing the Thunder.
The other forwards on “Team West” include Dryden’s Joel Poshtar, who leads the SIJHL in goals (35) and points (58), and fellow Ice Dogs Mike MacIntyre, Konrad Bruetsch, Tyler Desjarlais, and Tyler MacDonald.
Brent Irwin, Jesse Smith, and Jeff Herringer of the Hawks round out the line-up.
“Team East,” meanwhile, will be led by Fort William First Nation North Stars coach Todd Howarth.
His squad contains eight of his own players, plus eight from the Thunder Bay KC Bulldogs and four more from the Golden Hawks, whose contingent was split up because of their last-place standing.
Coming from the North Stars will be forwards Spencer Bodnar, Cory Bruno, Mike Krelove, Matt Miller, and Steve Atkins, along with defencemen Albert Kavanaugh and Ryan Baird.
But the brightest Star taking part in the game for Fort William probably is goalie Daniel Beardy, who has been spectacular this season with a 14-1 record and a leaguebest 2.51 G.A.A.
The Bulldogs will send forwards Adam Sergerie, Darryl Goulet, Jesse Bedard, and Sean Duffy to the game, along with defencemen Ian Dowhos, Eric Rice, and Brady Laskowski and goalie Ryan Mc- Manus.
The four Hawks on “Team East” include forwards Nathan Hookimaw, Tim Wabononik, and Travis Linklater, as well as defenceman Jarris Blacksmith.