Racers close book on season


The Borderland Racing Association handed out its end-of-season awards Saturday night in Emo—and there was plenty of hardware to be had with a number of racers going home with their hands full.
Winning points title trophies were Tylar Wilson (Street Stocks), Kendal Gamsby (Midwest Modifieds), and Greg Ferris (WISSOTA Modifieds).
Scott Messner, of Bemidji, Mn., claimed the most feature wins award in the Street Stocks division while Brady Caul and Dwayne Pihulak tied for that honour in the Midwest Mods.
Gavin Paull nabbed that award in the WISSOTA Modifieds division with five wins despite finishing second to Ferris in the overall points race.
The rookie-of-the-year award went to the joint ladies’ team of Char Nicolson and Trudy Engels in the Street Stocks while Andrew Trimble and Caul claimed the honour in the two Modified divisions.
Meanwhile, Cody Walkowski, Matt DiPiero, Glen Strachan, and Denny Trimble all were “rewarded” with plaques to remember their respective rollovers this past season.
The Keith McNally Memorial award for the hardest-working driver who shows up every week, but doesn’t necessarily get the results, went to Rick Bourre in the Street Stocks division.
Winning Hard Luck Driver awards were Richard Visser (Street Stocks), Matt Mutz (Midwest Mods), and Strachan (WISSOTA Mods).
Sportsmanship honours went to Ron Westover (Street Stocks), Christopher Leek (Midwest Mods), and Strachan (WISSOTA Mods).
Best Appearing Car awards went to Wilson, Chuck Lambert, and Strachan.
Strachan certainly picked up plenty of hardware on the night, but said he’d trade it all in for the big trophy Ferris won for the points championship.
Finally, the Fan Favourite trophies went to Westover, Caul, and Ferris in their respective divisions.