OFSAA curlers off and running

Jamie Mountain

Some 34 teams have flocked to Fort Frances this week for the boys’ and girls’ OFSAA curling championships that kicked off this morning and run through Saturday at the Fort Frances Curling Club.
It’s the first time since 1981 that Fort Frances has been selected to host the all-Ontarios in curling.
Both Muskie rinks had byes into the tournament as the host teams, and make up the remaining two teams in the field of 36.
The boys’ and girls’ divisions both feature 18 rinks, which have been split into three pools of six teams.
Pool ‘A’ in the boys’ division is comprised of the Atikokan Voyageurs, Bishop Allen Academy, Brooklin HS, Crestwood Preparatory College, Eastview SS, and Silverthorn CI.
Pool ‘B’ has Canterbury HS, E.L. Crossley, Loyalist C&VI, Mayfield SS, Moira SS, and Saugeen District SS.
Pool ‘C’ then features Aldserhot HS, the host Muskies, Medway HS, Timiskaming District SS, Vincent Massey, and Widdifield SS.
On the girls’ side, Pool ‘A’ is comprised of Cameron Heights, Lockerby CS, Medway HS, North Dundas District SS, Parry Sound HS, and St. Marguerite D’Youville.
Pool ‘B’ is made up of Bill Crothers SS, Bishop Allen Academy, Etobicoke CI, O’Neill C&VI, the Rainy River Owls, and Timiskaming District SS.
Pool ‘C’ then features the All Saints HS, A.N. Myer SS, Bear Creek SS, the host Muskies, St. Theresa Catholic SS, and Vincent Massey SS.
The Owls’ rink, comprised of Mackenzie Jolicouer, Aynsley Williams, Madison Williams, Lynnelle Westover, and Cassidy Teeple, squared off against Timiskaming District SS this morning.
The Voyageurs, featuring Jordan Ekstrom, Griffin Garuk, Chris Strom, and Isaac Strom, battled Bishop Allen Academy also this morning.
The Muskie boys’ rink, comprised of Chris Silver, Daniel Vandenbrand, Jason Bazylewski, Owen Riches, and Ben Olson, took on Aldershot SS early this afternoon in their first game.
The Muskie girls, featuring Tory Beaudry, Ashley Payne, Katrina Slomke, Andrea Schram, and Lauren Penney, tangled with Bear Creek SS in theirs.
Results of those contests weren’t known as of press time.
Atikokan then was slated to face Silverthorn CI this afternoon while the Muskie boys take on Medway HS this evening.
The Muskie girls take on St. Theresa Catholic SS tonight while the Owls battle O’Neill C&VI.
Tomorrow’s action then will see the Owls squaring off against Etobicoke CI at 7:45 a.m., with the Muskie boys facing off against Widdifield SS at 10:30 a.m.
The Muskie girls will battle the All Saints HS at 10:30 a.m., with the Voyageurs taking on Crestwood Preparatory College at 1:15 p.m.
Later matches will see the Owls tangling with the Bill Crothers SS at 4:30 p.m., followed by the Muskie boys squaring off against Timiskaming District SS at 6:45 p.m.
The Muskie girls also will face A.N. Mayer SS at 6:45 p.m.
Atikokan will cap the day with a match against Eastview SS at 9:15 p.m.
Friday will see the Muskie girls taking on Vincent Massey SS while the boys will square off against Vincent Massey, both at 8 a.m.
Atikokan then faces Brooklin HS at 11 a.m. while Rainy River will play their final match of the preliminary round against Bishop Allen Academy at 2 p.m.
The top two teams in each pool, along the top two third-place teams with the next best record, will advance to the quarter-finals later Friday.
The boys’ matches kick off at 5 p.m., with the girls’ commencing at 8 p.m.
Saturday will feature both the boys’ and girls’ semi-final matches at 9:15 a.m., followed by the gold- and bronze-medal games at 12:30 p.m.