NWO Sports Hall of Fame unveils 2010 inductees

Press Release

Four athletes and two builders make up the 2010 slate of inductees to enter the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame at the 29th-annual induction dinner and ceremonies set for Sept. 25 in Thunder Bay.
Legendary curling skip Al Hackner, known around the curling world as “The Iceman,” is considered one of the game’s best—having earned success at all levels of play.
Greg Johnson is being honoured for an outstanding hockey career that included 12 seasons in the NHL and contributing to a world junior title and an Olympic silver medal for Canada.
A pioneer and innovator in the sport of freestyle Bicycle Motor-Cross (BMX), Jay Miron becomes the first athlete from this sport to enter the hall, having claimed multiple BMX Freestyle World and Extreme Games titles throughout his career.
And two-time Olympian Dave Walker will be recognized for his success in the sport of freestyle skiing, having claimed numerous Canadian titles and earning multiple podium placements in World Cup and world championship competitions.
Being recognized in the “Builder” category is George Gwozdecky Jr., who has enjoyed a 25-year coaching career in the highly-competitive U.S. collegiate hockey program, amassing more than 500 wins and leading his teams to two national titles.
Rounding out the slate of 2010 inductees is Fred Bragnalo, a builder of sport in the truest sense of the word, having been involved with the establishment of Little League baseball and the Sports Hall of Fame and dedicating himself to the support of youth athletics through his involvement with the Royal Canadian Legion over many years.
“The individuals being inducted this year are another fine example of the outstanding athletes, coaches, and volunteers that come out of our region,” said Hall of Fame president Phil Jarvis.
“By inducting these individuals into the Hall of Fame, we are able to ensure that their contributions in sport will not be forgotten and that they will continue to serve as a source of community pride for generations to come,” he added.
The 2010 slate will be officially inducted into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday, Sept. 25 at the Valhalla Inn in Thunder Bay.
Tickets are available for $75 each, which can be ordered by calling 1-807-622-2852 or dropping by the Hall of Fame at 219 May St. S.