New members for the Sports Hall of Fame

Press Release

The Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame has new committee members. Founding members Terry Ogden, David Egan, and Larry Patrick have stepped aside. Ogden and Patrick will remain involved in an advisory capacity. Returning committee members Glenn Witherspoon and Jeannie Bujold are joined by Bob Tkachuk (Tah-chuck), Dan Bird, Dave Bruyere, Mike Allison, and Scott Fawcett. In November 2021 the committee will vote on the nominees for the next Hall of Fame induction ceremonies scheduled for Saturday August 13, 2022. Nomination forms will be available by the middle of March 2021.

Ogden, Egan and Patrick who teamed up to found the Sports Hall of Fame in 2012, organized three highly successful induction events in 2015, 2017 and 2019. Ogden coached the Muskie Hockey team to their first two All – Ontario Championships in 1986 and 1989. Egan was a former Muskie hockey captain, a successful hockey coach and was one of the leaders in the campaign to build the Ice for Kids arena. Patrick spread the idea of the Sports Hall of Fame to the town of Kenora. The Hall of Fame committee also recognizes the contributions of Barb Ogden. For the past 8 years Barb has provided invaluable administrative support and has managed the Hall of Fame Facebook page.

The Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame was founded with a mission to preserve and honour the area’s rich and proud sports heritage. Since the inaugural induction event in 2015, 11 athletes, 15 builders and 7 teams have been honoured for their outstanding accomplishments and contributions to a wide variety of sports. See the inductees’ plaques on Facebook and in the lobby of the Fort Frances Sports Centre 740 Scott Street.