Muskie Touchdown Club holds awards night

It might be 20 degrees below zero outside, and high school football has been over for at least three months, but the Muskie Touchdown Club held its annual awards night last Wednesday.
Many players and their parents gathered at the Little Beaver Snow Park for a spaghetti supper and an evening of presentations, pictures, and, of course, tubing.
Wendy Brunetta, who planned the evening with the help of her son, Jesse, welcomed the players and parents to the banquet. She also thanked the parents for their support.
“Your fundraising efforts helps buy equipment, rent buses, and makes it possible for our players to compete in the Winnipeg High School Football League,” she noted.
Brunetta encouraged all parents to get involved, and reminded them that the Touchdown Club meets on the second Tuesday of each month at Fort Frances High School.
She also thanked the players.
“Your hard work, selling Muskie discount cards door-to-door, is how we get most of our money,” she remarked.
Following supper, the players escaped outside for a little tubing before being called back inside for the awards presentations.
Head coach Vince Gouin began the awards by introducing this past season’s rookie-of-the-year, Tyler Abma. Gouin said Abma had demonstrated an outstanding willingness to learn the game from the very first moment he stepped on the field.
The defensive MVP, Tyler Huntley, was introduced by coach Lou Gauthier.
“I always look for someone who listens, follows directions, and gets the job done,” Gauthier grinned.
“This year, Tyler did everything I asked him to do!”
Coach Andrew George, a former Muskie quarterback himself, had the honour of presenting Tyler Brusven with the award for most outstanding contribution to the team.
“Tyler is the kind of player that gives everything he has for the team, without question, and plays through the cuts, bruises, and pain,” George reflected.
Gouin then concluded the presentations with the award for player of the year.
“This year, three names kept coming up when we polled the players and coaches, so we decided to split the award,” he noted.
This year’s players of the year are Geoff Smeeth, Josh Stevens, and Matt DePiero.
Gouin thanked the entire team for their efforts in 2007.
“I know the scores were never what we wanted, but I’m proud of the way you represented this team, our school, the town, and the entire district, on and off the field,” Gouin said.
He made special mention of the seniors who will be graduating this June.
“Remember you will always be Muskies,” he beamed. “No matter where you go or what you do in life, you will always be Muskies!”
Despite a record they probably would like to forget, all the players demonstrated, throughout the evening, an enthusiasm and positive spirit which bodes well for the future of Muskie football.