Muskie rinks bounced

The Muskie girls’ rink will finish in either second or third place at the NWOSSAA curling championships which wrap up today at the Nipigon and Red Rock Curling Club.
Amy Nielson, whose rink includes third Jenna Enge, second Kate Bondett, and lead Courtney Beadle, were 3-2 heading into this afternoon’s tie-breaker against Port Arthur Collegiate (Thunder Bay).
St. Patrick’s (Thunder Bay) already clinched the lone berth to the all-Ontarios with a perfect 5-0 record.
The Muskies had opened the playdowns yesterday with a convincing 7-2 win over Red Lake, who were the NorWOSSA champs (Fort High had advanced as the second-place team).
Then after beating Geraldton 7-3, the black-and-gold lost 5-1 to Terrace Bay but rebounded with a 6-1 decision over PACI.
But a 10-4 loss to St. Pats this morning sealed their fate.
Meanwhile, the Muskie boys’ rink of David Kaun, third Mike Badiuk, second Lucas Keffer, lead Mike McKay, and spare Mike Sande went winless with an 0-5 record at NWOSSAA.
They started with a 7-3 loss to Kenora (who had won NorWOSSA gold), then fell 5-4 to Geraldton in their second draw.
An 8-2 loss to Marathon followed, then an 8-3 loss to last year’s OFSAA champion St. Ignatius and an 8-3 setback to Westgate.
Two rinks from the boys’ field will go to OFSAA because St. Ignatius already had a berth as the defending champs. Geraldton wound up with the second berth.
This year’s all-Ontario’s are being held April 4-7 in Bancroft for the boys and Timmins for the girls.