Muskie football schedule unveiled

The Muskie football team will open the 2006 Winnipeg High School Football League on home turf on Friday, Sept. 8 against Kildonan East.
Kick-off is scheduled for 3 p.m. at Muskie Field.
The black-and-gold then will go on the road for a pair of games—facing Sturgeon Creek on Thursday, Sept. 14 before squaring off against old NorWOSSA foes Dryden on Tuesday, Sept. 19.
The NorWOSSA rivalry will continue on Friday, Sept. 22 when the Kenora Broncos ride into town to meet the Muskies (this likely will be the annual Homecoming game).
Fort High then hosts St. Paul’s #2 on Friday, Sept. 29 before closing out the regular season with games at Daniel Mac on Friday, Oct. 6 and then versus Oak Park #2 on Friday, Oct. 13 at Winnipeg Stadium.
All games begin at 3 p.m.
The Muskies will enjoy their bye during the final week of the regular season, with the quarter-finals slated for Thursday, Oct. 26 and Friday, Oct. 27 at 4 and 6:30 p.m. at Winnipeg Stadium.
The semi-finals will be played Friday, Nov. 3 at 4 and 6:30 p.m., also at Winnipeg Stadium, with the league final going there Friday, Nov. 10 at 4:30 p.m.
The WHSFL awards banquet will be held in Winnipeg on either Friday, Nov. 24 or Saturday, Nov. 25.
To get ready for the new season, the Muskies will open training camp this Sunday (Aug. 20) with player testing and equipment and locker assignment.
The squad then hits the gridiron for practice on Monday (Aug. 21) from 5:30-8:30 p.m.
A four-team exhibition scrimmage is scheduled for Thursday, Aug. 31 at 4 p.m. at Tec Voc in Winnipeg, with final team selections being made after that.
In related news, the annual Muskie Touchdown Club discount card blitz will be held Thursday, Sept. 7 starting at 6 p.m.
The players will be selling the cards, which cost $20 each and feature a variety of discounts at 18 local businesses, in a door-to-door canvass across town that evening.
The Muskie Touchdown Club also will be holding a tag day on Saturday, Sept. 16 to help raise money to fund the team’s operation in the WHSFL.
As well, tickets for the club’s Grey Cup raffle continue to be sold at various locations around town, including the Fort Frances Times office, for $10 each.
The package includes two tickets to the big game (Sec. A, Row 23) on Sunday, Nov. 19 in Winnipeg, as well as hotel accommodations for one night and $400 in spending money (total value $1,000).
Only 1,000 tickets have been printed, with the draw date set for Friday, Oct. 13 at 1 p.m. at Fort Frances High School.

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail