Muskie duo falls short at OFSAA

While Fort Frances High School’s OFSAA badminton hopes were dashed over the weekend, Rainy River High School had a semi-finalist to cheer for in Waterloo.
The Muskie boys’ doubles team of Jamie Jensen and Tim Desjardins wound up with a 1-3 record—being eliminated by the duo that later advanced to the ‘C’ final.
After losing their first two matches, the black-and-gold turned it around Friday morning against John Ochangco and Jordan Catibog of the Toronto District Collegiate Athletic Association in Flight ‘C’ action.
But they couldn’t keep their winning ways going, falling to Matthew Wainwright and Jon Ramkumar of the Northeastern Ontario Athletic Association in their next match.
Meanwhile, the Owls’ girls’ doubles team of Hillary Hansen and Chantel Heyens finished fourth in the Flight ‘C’ bracket.
Kristin Moen and Molly Bartlett, the other girls’ doubles team from RRHS, won their first match in Flight ‘C’ after opening with two losses.
But then they were ousted by Katie MacDonnell and Ali Okihiro of the Golden Horseshoe Athletic Conference, who ended up finishing in second place in Flight ‘C.’
The Owls’ third team at OFSAA—the mixed doubles duo of Nick Ashworth and Carly Nordin—went winless at the tournament.