Moody, Byrnes capture Frog Creek Open titles

Bill Moody and Plum Byrnes both fired 88s on Sunday to capture the men’s and women’s titles in the 21st-annual Frog Creek Open at Kitchen Creek.
Both players took top spot by slim one-stroke margins.
Moody won a three-night, four-day trip to Las Vegas for his efforts while Byrnes picked up a weekend golf/hotel package.
Louis Sproviere and Ken Badiuk tied for second behind Moody after carding identical scores of 89. Meanwhile, Laureen Hill finished second behind Byrnes, also firing an 89.
Sproviere won the first flight, two strokes ahead of Bill Daley, Dale Kaemingh and Willie Cole (all with 91) and Dan Bird (94).
Kevin Webb took the second flight with a 92, finishing ahead of Manny Rego and Bob Mainville (93), and Charlie Windego and Tyler Bell (96).
Steve Felix topped the third flight with a 91, winning on a countback over Doug Hodge and Allan Hammond. Don Hughes (95) and Darcy Mosbeck (97) rounded out the top five.
Raymond Roy prevailed in the fourth flight with a 94, also winning on a countback over Clinton Pruys and Kent Ogden. Jack Cameron (98) and Mike Gerstner (100) came fourth and fifth respectively.
Badiuk won the fifth flight with his 89, finishing well ahead of Rob Payne (97), Todd Hahkala (98), Bill Hammond (99), and Frank Pochailo (99).
In the sixth flight, Lindsay Rogoza was the winner after carding a 94, finishing ahead of Darryl Bodnar (98), Jim Parsons (101), Robin Wright (102), and Steve Douglas (104).
James Booth topped the seventh flight with a 92, finishing 11 strokes ahead of both Ken Robertson and Carl Howells (103). Paul Lawson (104) and Norm Hyatt (107) rounded out the top five.
The eighth flight saw Dave Hyatt capture top honours with a 97, followed by Mark Beatty (101), Gord Watson (102), Craig Martell (104), and Dale Ramsey (106).
Paul Dolyny won the ninth flight with a 90, well ahead of Sandy Taggart (101), Don Larson (105), Larry Well (107), and Greg Plumridge (108).
The 10th flight saw Kerry Flinders nip Murray Wepruk on a countback after carding a 108, followed by of Gene Andrusco (110), Marty Tibbs (111), and Dennis Barras (112).
In women’s play, Hill captured the first flight ahead of Sandra Stevens (99), Shannon Burton (100), Sharon DeBenedet (105), and Laurie Halliday (107).
Shelly Wepruk was first in the second flight after a countback with a 113, finishing ahead of Bonnie Pencoff (113), Carol Jorgenson (116), Laura Bruyere (117), and Janice Vervaeke (124).
Some 158 golfers took part in the 18-hole event, up from 110 last year.
“It was good to see we had that many golfers,” said Kitchen Creek club pro Gord Workum. “We were supposed to have our limit set at 150 but we were able to get a couple of more groups in to come up with 158.
“I even heard we had to refuse some people,” he added.
And as tradition dictates, Moody, who also won the Frog Creek Open in 1991, and Byrnes now have to organize next year’s tournament.
This year’s tourney was run by Keith Gosselin and Maureen Thomson, who topped the men and women respectively last September.