Local rinks compete for national stage at Northern Ontario Curling Championships


The Rainy River District will have a strong showing at the Northern Ontario Men’s and Women’s Provincial Curling Championships, scheduled for Jan 4-9 2022 at the Kenora Rec Centre.

Dylan Johnston of the Fort Frances Curling Club and local native Trevor Bonot of the Fort William Curling Club will compete in the 8 team men’s event. The winner will go on to play at the Tim Hortons Briar. Hailey Beaudry of the Fort Frances Curling Club and Jackie McCormick of the Stratton Curling Club will be competing with two other teams for a spot in the Scotties Tournament of Hearts.

The men’s event will be a single round robin, followed by semi-final and final rounds. The women’s format will be a double round robin, followed by a final.

The winners will go on to compete on the national stage. The 2022 Tim Hortons Brier will be held in Lethbridge, AB, from March 4-13, 2022, while the 2022 Scotties Tournament of Hearts will be held at the Fort Williams Garden in Thunder Bay, from January 28 to February 6, 2022.

Full event passes and single draw tickets for the provincials are on sale and can be purchased at both the Kenora Curling Club and Keewatin Curling Club. Single game tickets cost $20. Full event passes cost $100 and grants access to all draws, including semi-finals, and finals. Capacity is capped at 50 per cent, due to COVID restrictions. Proof of vaccination is required. Volunteers are also welcome. For more information, visit the clubs on Facebook, or e-mail stasiuk@shaw.ca.

Below are the confirmed teams coming to the event:


Dylan Johnston – Fort Frances Curling Club

Trevor Bonot – Fort William Curling Club

Brad Jacobs – Community First Curling Club (Sault Ste. Marie)

Jacob Reid – Community First Curling Club (Sault Ste. Marie)

Joshua Szajewski – Keewatin Curling Club

Sandy MacEwan – Curl Sudbury

Kory Carr – Port Arthur Curling Club

Chris Glibota – Community First Curling Club (Sault Ste. Marie)


Hailey Beaudry – Fort Frances Curling Club

Jackie McCormick – Stratton Curling Club

Krista McCarville – Fort William Curling Club

Jennifer Briscoe – Port Arthur Curling Club