Local hall of fame seeking nominees

Jamie Mountain

If there is someone you think is worthy to be entered into the Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame, now is the time to help get them that honour.
The Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame is accepting nominations for its 2019 class.
Forms are available at each of the hall’s sponsors, including the Fort Frances Times’ office, La Place Rendez-Vous, Taggs’ Source For Sports, Flint House, West End Motors, and Sunset Country Ford.
“We have some nominations already but we also carry some nomination forms over,” noted committee member Terry Ogden.
“After we had nominations for 2017, and we had our selections, some of those people that didn’t get selected, they’re still there to be chosen,” he explained.
“We’re trying to promote nominations and the idea of the hall is to preserve the sporting history of Fort Frances.”
Already making up next year’s class is Scott Fawcett, who recently was named an inductee in the “Builder” category into the Northwestern Ontario Sports Hall of Fame and automatically gets a spot in the local one.
Learning the game of football growing up in Fort Frances, Fawcett–a long-time coach–went on to enjoy a close to a 30-year career in which he was a part of 10 championship squads.
A special teams and defensive co-ordinator, Fawcett’s record of success included a CFL Grey Cup victory with the 1999 Hamilton Tiger Cats and the 1985 CIAU Vanier Cup with the University of Calgary.
He also was part of victories in the NAIA Upper Midwest Athletic Conference and Manitoba Junior Football League, as well as NWOSSAA and Northwestern Ontario titles with Fort Frances and Kenora teams.
“Some of these other people may not ever get into the Northwestern Sports Hall of Fame,” said Ogden.
“What they’ve done here wouldn’t be considered enough to get them into it but it would get them into our Hall of Fame,” he reasoned.
“We think they should be recognized so that’s why we’re doing this.”
The inaugural 2015 class included the likes of hockey player Frank “Ike” Eisenzoph and bodybuilder Brock Madill (in the athletes’ category), and executive Jon Gustafson (in the builders’ category), who were selected out of nominations from the community.
The two teams chosen that year were the 1960 Fort Frances Canadians, which won the Western Canadian Intermediate Senior Championship, and the 1989 Muskie football team, which won the school’s first NWOSSAA title since its inception in 1953.
The 2017 class featured former Muskie girls’ hockey head coach Scott Clendenning, along with the father-son tandem of Jim and Glenn Witherspoon in the builder’s category.
Inducted in the team category were the 1959 Manitoba schoolboy curling champions and the 1980 NorWOSSA and NWOSSAA champion Muskie senior girls’ basketball squad.
If you know someone who would make a great addition to the 2019 class, make sure to fill out a nomination form.