Kabel to head FFMHA

Jamie Mountain

Jason Kabel stepped in take over as president of the Fort Frances Minor Hockey Association for next season at its annual general meeting last Tuesday night in the conference room of the Ice For Kids Arena.
Wayne Strachan, head coach and general manager of the Fort Frances Lakers, was president last season but chose to step down with a year left in his term.
Chris Wielinga will be the vice-president, Travis Enge is taking over as treasurer, Lori Flinders is secretary, Kim Kirk will be registrar, Ron MacKinnon will be development co-ordinator, Dave Coats is the ice scheduler, and Adam Scott will be the webmaster.
Filling out the board of directors for the 2018-19 season are Greg Latter (IP), Jennifer Kocuiba (Novice), Paul Nicholson (Atom), Steve Chown (PeeWee), Shane Bliss (Bantam), and Ian Strain (Midget).
In related news, the FFMHA has put out a call for applications for house league and ‘AA’ coaches for the 2018-19 season, with all positions needing to be filled prior to hitting the ice this fall.
The FFMHA asks that you submit your coaching qualifications, experience, and philosophy in writing by Friday, May 18.
All coaches will require the online Respect in Sport or the Speak Out Clinic.
Coaches also must confirm with the FFMHA that they have the level of certification needed for the division they are interested in coaching.
The FFMHA is planning to conduct pre-season coaching development and mentoring sessions with its newly-appointed development board member.
As well, the convener application deadline has been set for May 18.