Fort teams win tourney titles

Second-period tallies from S. Bliss, G. Madill, and B. Mainville helped the Tooks Hawks (Fort Frances) to a 5-1 victory over Atikokan in the final of the 10-team Emo Cowboys tournament Sunday afternoon.
Bliss put the Hawks up 1-0 with a goal in the first while R. Anderson netted an insurance marker in the third. Atikokan got its lone tally in the second frame.
Tooks had a bye into the final while Atikokan nipped the host Cowboys 3-1 to earn the other berth.
After Cuffy Kehl put Atikokan ahead 1-0 midway through the second, Kevin Orchard put the Cowboys back on even terms when he scored with just over three minutes left in the period.
But it was all Atikokan in the third. Kehl netted his second of the game with under three minutes to play, then Sean Anderson beat Kent Ogden in the final minute to ice the victory.
The Cowboys had sidelined the Fort High Times 6-4 earlier in quarter-final action while Tooks Hawks edged a scrappy Morson squad 5-3.
Meanwhile, the Fort Frances Sabres scored four times in each period en route to a 12-0 thrashing over Ear Falls to win the consolation title.
M. Langtry and P. Legarie each had hat tricks to lead the Sabres. G. Smith and C. Wielinga both scored two goals while J. Kabel and P. Langtry netted one each.
The Sabres received the bye to the final while Ear Falls beat the Stars 9-2. Derek Nelson led Ear Falls with a hat trick while Scott Cobb, Dan Cooke, and Gibb Tucker had two goals each.
First-round action saw the Fort High Times dump the Knights 10-1, the Cowboys blank the Sabres 3-0, Tooks Hawks down Ear Falls 8-2, Morson edge the Rangers 3-1, and Atikokan trounce the Stars 13-1.