Fort Frances Lakers announce 2019-20 season award recipients

Press Release

As directed by Hockey Canada and the Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), the Fort Frances Lakers announce the remainder of the 2020 hockey season has been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
This includes the 2020 Dudley-Hewitt Cup that was scheduled for April 28-May 2 here. Please check back to our website,, the 2020 Dudley-Hewitt Cup website and our social media for updates. Due to the season’s abrupt end, the Lakers will be making the last two 400 Club draws at a later date.
The Lakers’ Board of Directors, management and players would like to thank all of our 2019-20 sponsors! We couldn’t do this without the generosity of our district businesses, organizations and individuals. Our gratitude remains unwavering. To our passionate fans, dedicated volunteers and billet families; thank you all so much for your continued support and friendship. A big Lakers’ thank you to our wonderful team of volunteers on the 2020 Dudley-Hewitt Cup Committee. Your collaboration and hard work means the world to us. The Lakers’ organization appreciates everyone who contributes to our team’s prosperity and sustainability. The Lakers’ Board of Directors remains in contact with Hockey Canada, the CJHL and the SIJHL and – is informed of the situation as it evolves. We will provide further updates as they become available. We thank everyone for their understanding and wish you all good health.
Fort Frances Lakers 2020 Team Awards Recipients
– MVP (sponsored by RBC)–Kyle Uzelman
– PITA (i.e. “Pain In the Butt”) (sponsored by Rusty Myers Flying Service)–Tyler Malpass
– Best Defenceman (Revco/Ange and Dave Petsnick)–MacKenzie Flett
– Most Sportsmanlike/Gentlemanly Player (The McPherson Family)–Benjamin Hoefler
– Most Improved Player (Super 8)–Noah Loveday
– Leadership Award (Boston Pizza)–Noah Loveday
– Most Dedicated Player (Badiuk’s Powersports)–Alex Bugeja
– Bev Kotnik Award (Fort Frances Lakers Board of Directors)–Alex Bugeja
– Rookie of the Year (Fort Frances General Supply)–Kiernan Bailey