Fort bowlers earn ‘Aggregate’ banner


It was a “banner” weekend for a group of Fort Frances bowlers in Kenora.
The local contingent garnered 41 points overall to capture the annual “Aggregate” tournament that pits the four clubs making up Sunset Country competing against each other in various divisions.
Balmertown was next with 28 total points, followed by host Kenora (26) and then Dryden (25).
The Fort Frances men’s scratch team–made up of Mike Behan, Bill Plumridge, Rick Stamarski, and Jeff Watts–cruised to victory in their division, racking up a total pinfall of 6,384 over the seven-game roll-off (four on Saturday and three on Sunday).
That was more than 900 pins ahead of runner-up Balmertown (5,476).
Kenora finished third (5,444), with Dryden taking fourth place (5,383).
The Fort Frances women’s scratch team–comprised of Toni Benning, Kathy Bois, Bobbi Jo Guenette, and Marla Fedeniuk–also took first place in their division.
They totalled 5,204 over the seven games to top Kenora (5,092), Balmertown (5,063), and Dryden (4,919).
Meanwhile, the Fort Frances men’s handicap team–featuring Mike Cox (Atikokan), Rob Paterson, Rich Walton, and Tylar Wilson–nabbed second place in their division with a 6,290 total over seven games.
Kenora took top spot at 6,319, with Balmertown third (6,280) and Dryden fourth (6,198).
It was fourth-place finishes for the other three Fort Frances teams competing in Kenora.
Balmertown cruised to top honours in the mixed scratch division with a 5,919 total, followed by Dryden in second (5,715) and Kenora in third (5,325).
Fort Frances (Mike Behan, Marla Fedeniuk, and Len and Nancy Noonan) wound up with a 5,237 total.
Dryden garnered top spot in the mixed handicap division with a 6,844 total, followed by Balmertown in second (6,439) and Kenora in third (6,232).
Fort Frances (Tamara Beyak, Mike Gervais, Rob Kinsman, and Jay Supinski) wound up with a 5,999 total.
And in the ladies’ handicap division, it was Kenora taking first place at 6,516, followed by Dryden in second (6,372) and Balmertown in third (6,343).
Fort Frances (Judy Audette, Sandy Dixon, Alysha Shields, and Missy Wilson) totalled 6,063.
Among the individual awards, Jeff Watts of Fort Frances led the way in the men’s scratch series with a 1,940 total.
He was followed by Kyle Hamilton of Balmertown (1,840), Mike Behan of Fort Frances (1,510), and Tim Gadd of Dryden (1,498).
Toni Benning of Fort Frances, meanwhile, was tops in the ladies’ scratch series with a 1,510, followed by Sam Alberts of Dryden (1,490), Sam Carlson of Kenora (1,474), and Charlotte Hazlewood of Dryden (1,432).
In the men’s handicap series, Jordan Lovas of Balmertown was first (1,739), followed by Andrew Misner of Dryden (1,718), Ted Lake of Dryden (1,698), and Mike Cox for Fort Frances (1,695).
And in the ladies’ handicap series, Kennedy Ponton of Dryden finished in top spot (1,860), with Linda Lacroix of Kenora in second (1,742), Mel Morris of Dryden in third (1,713), and Tracy Silk of Balmertown in fourth (1,672).
The high four-game block went to Kennedy Ponton of Dryden with an 1,118.
The Mike Pavey Memorial Award was presented to Jeff Watts of Fort Frances for men’s high single scratch (338), Sam Alberts of Dryden and Sam Carlson of Kenora (tie) for ladies’ high single scratch (286), Mike Cox for Fort Frances for men’s high single with handicap (335), and Kennedy Ponton of Dryden for ladies’ high single with handicap (368).
Finally, the inaugural Betty Bouchard Trophy, awarded to the bowler with the most points over average (scratch or handicap), went to Kyle Hamilton of Balmertown (+361).