Football awards handed out


With a successful season officially in the books and a championship trophy in hand, the Muskie football team needed to hand out some more hardware.
The gridiron gang held their annual awards banquet on Monday night at the Copper River Inn.
Lane Sargent took home the rookie-of-the-year award.
The lineman-of-the-year honour was shared by Wyatt Richards and Aaron Scheibler.
Colten Allen caused enough havoc along the defensive line to capture the Reece Scofield Memorial Award for being the Muskies’ outstanding defensive player for the second year in a row.
Sean Huziak did it all on offence, defence, and special teams for the Muskies and nabbed the special teams’ player-of-the-year award.
Quarterback Brady Meeks topped the Currie Division (‘A’) in passing yards (885) and touchdowns (8) and was fifth in rushing yards (539).
He was also the fearless leader for the Muskies the last four seasons and all his dedication to the program made it a no-brainer to honour Meeks with the Marc DeGagne Memorial Award for outstanding contribution.