Flyers breeze over Stars in Bantam final

After all the work they had put in, the Atikokan Flyers decided to finish with a flourish.
Three third-period goals vaulted the Flyers to a 5-2 win over the Emo Stars at the Ice for Kids Arena here Sunday afternoon in the final of a 12-team Bantam ‘A’ hockey tournament.
The Flyers led 2-1 after two periods on goals by Pierre Jourdain and Graham Dyck before Mike Kostrynuk, Tyler Nelson, and Chris Halasz struck in the third to ice the win.
Matt Badiuk and Ryan Witherspoon scored for Emo.
The Thunder Bay KC Sabres, meanwhile, walloped the Kenora Medics 11-2 to win the ‘B’ crown.
The Emo Stars had been untouchable up until the ‘A’ final, opening play with a 7-1 win over Canadian Tire (Fort Frances).
Wendall Smith, Terry Carmody, and Witherspoon had three of Emo’s goals (the other four goal scorers were unavailable as of press time) while Zach Henry netted Canadian Tire’s lone goal.
Emo then dumped the Holmlund’s Leafs (Fort Frances) to the tune of 9-0. Witherspoon, Carmody, Smith, and Chris Mutz each had a pair in that one while Andrew Friesen added a single.
Kyle Gortzen earned the shutout in goal.
Witherspoon then had two assists in a 4-1 win over the Sabres in the Stars’ third contest. Friesen, Carmody, Badiuk, and Mutz were the marksmen for Emo.
Their 3-0 mark gave the Stars first place in Pool ‘C’ with six points and first overall in terms of the playoff seeds, thanks to having the best goal average at .90.
Goal average was determined by subtracting the number of goals a team allowed from the number they scored, then dividing that total by the number they scored.
The Sabres were second in Pool ‘C’ with four points (sixth overall) while Canadian Tire was third with one point (10th overall) and a better goal average than fourth-place Holmlund’s (11th overall).
Atikokan led Pool ‘A’ with six points (second overall), followed by Kennedy K-9s with four points (fourth), the Emo Predators with two (eighth), and the Westfort Maroons from Thunder Bay (12th).
The Thunder Bay Beavers captured Pool ‘B’ with four points (third overall) in a goal average tiebreaker over Kenora (fifth overall). Fort Frances Wal-Mart was third with three points (seventh) while Fort Frances Oddfellows were fourth with one point (ninth).
The pool winners, plus the next best goal average team (Kennedy’s K-9s), qualified for the semi-finals.
The Emo Stars drubbed the K-9s 7-1 in one semi-final, with Witherspoon leading the charge with a goal and three assists. Smith and Carmody scored twice each for Emo while Badiuk and Tyler Cottam had the others.
Irv Lockman’s tallied the only goal for the K-9s.
The other semi-final saw Atikokan beat the Beavers (the final score was unavailable at press time).
Here are the rest of the results involving local teams:
•Kennedy K-9s 4—Emo Predators 3
K-9s: Boyd Badiuk, Jeremy Gruttner, Irv Lockman, N/A
Predators: Charlie DeBungee, T.J. Roen, N/A
•Wal-Mart 3—Oddfellows 3
Wal-Mart: Andrew Maki, Dylan Mainville, N/A
Oddfellows: Tyler Harris, Dayton Brown, Kyle Smeeth
•Thunder Bay K.C. Sabres 3—Holmlund’s Leafs 1
Sabres: Robert Prystanski, David Bottos, N/A
Leafs: Nina Bird
•Atikokan Flyers 4—Kennedy K-9s 2
Flyers: Walker Smith (2), Pierre Jourdain, Doug Couts
K-9s: Irv Lockman, Jeremy Gruttner
•Emo Predators 4—Westfort Maroons 1
Predators: Charlie DeBungee (3), Tyler Huntley
Maroons: John Roulston
•Wal-Mart 3—Thunder Bay Beavers 2
Wal-Mart: Faron Morrisseau, Andrew Maki, Dylan Mainville
Beavers: Travis Haglin, N/A
•Kenora Medics 3—Oddfellows 2
Medics: Brock Marek (2), Mike Gallik
Oddfellows: Mitchell Carlson, Kyle Smeeth
•Thunder Bay K.C. Sabres 7—Canadian Tire 3
Sabres: Spencer Smith (2), Jordan Miller (2), Robert Prystanski, Jared Thurier, Sean Tuninghame
Canadian Tire: Zach Henry, Darren Foster, Brian Wayash
•Kenora Medics 2—Wal-Mart 0
Medics: Ryan Matischuk, Mike Gallik
•Thunder Bay Beavers 4—Oddfellows 1
Beavers: Nathan Spina (2), Travis Haglin, Lucas Restoule
Oddfellows: Matthew Beck
•Kennedy K-9s 5—Westfort Maroons 0
K-9s: Shane Loyie, Darcy Arden, Irv Lockman, Jonas Walton, Alex Shoemaker
•Atikokan Flyers 6—Emo Predators 1
Flyers: Tyler Nelson (2), Doug Couts, Graham Dyck, Mitch Kerr, Chris Halasz
Predators: Charlie DeBungee
•Canadian Tire 3—Holmlund’s Leafs 3
Canadian Tire: Neil Roy, Alex Marusyk, Brian Wayash
Leafs: Steven Williams, Josh Sigurdson, Brett Legard
•Thunder Bay K.C. Sabres 3—Holmlund’s Leafs 2 (OT)
Sabres: John Connor, Codey Iriene, Spencer Smith
Leafs: Kyle Sigurdson, Michael Sande
•Wal-Mart 2—Canadian Tire 1
Wal-Mart: Faron Morrisseau, Nick Ashworth
Canadian Tire: Alex Marusyk
•Emo Predators 3—Oddfellows 0
Predators: Mike Badiuk, Charlie DeBungee, Matt Smith
•Thunder Bay K.C. Sabres 9—Wal-Mart 1
Sabres: Ben Sarkka (3), Sean Tuninghame (2), David Bottos, Jared Thurier, Spencer Smith, Jordan Miller
Wal-Mart: Nick Ashworth
•Kenora Medics 3—Emo Predators 1
Medics: Brock Marek, Cameron Scott, Aaron Mallet
Predators: Matt Beacham