Figure skaters earn awards

The Border Skating Club held its annual awards banquet earlier this month at the Fort Frances Curling Club.
Awards were presented as follows:
•Agnes McEvoy Trophy—Chelsey Skirten;
•Most Improved Primary Level Skaters—Emma Kunkel (dance), Kelli Cole (skills), and Hannah McLeod (free);
•Most Dedicated Program Assistant—Sierra Cousineau, Erika Moffitt, and Chelsey Mosley;
•McTaggarts Trophy (highest points in Primary)—Sydnee McLeod;
•Abitibi-Consolidated Trophy (most improved)(Intermediate)—Jillian Bobczynski (dance), Kiela Ford/Sarah DeGagne (skills), and Alexa Kadikoff (free);
•Abitibi-Consolidated Trophy (most improved)(High)—Samantha Loveday (dance), Danielle Gustafson (skills), and Michael Nelson (free);
•Border Shield (highest points in tests passed)(Intermediate)—Jenna Wilson, Jillian Bobczynski, and Sierra Cousineau;
•Border Shield (highest points in tests passed)(High)—Ashlee Nordstrom;
•Rhonda Paterson Memorial Trophy (most dedicated)—Kiela Ford;
•Artistic Impression Trophy—Jenna Wilson;
•Coaches’ Trophy—Ashlee Nordstrom;
•Congenial Skater Trophy—Danielle Gustafson;
•Carrie Selin Award—Chloe Hudson; and
•Gold Tests—Danielle Gustafson (Gold Skills and Gold Dance), Samantha Loveday (Gold Skills and Gold Dance), Alexa Buttner (Gold Interpretive and Gold Dance), and Michael Nelson (Gold Interpretive and Gold Skills)
The following awards were presented during the Border Skating Club’s recent ice show:
•Canskater of the Year—Taylor Croswell;
•Canskate champions—Samantha McKinnon and Zechariah McDougall;
•Border Travel Trophy—Jayde Wright; and
•Skates & Blades Trophy—Katelin Gurniak