FFGWHA hands out year-end awards


The Fort Frances Girls’/Women’s Hockey Association held its annual year-end banquet Sunday evening at the Memorial Sports Centre.
Gianna Gushulak nabbed the Larry Tucker Memorial Novice rookie-of-the-year award.
Here is a complete list of the winners from each team:
•Novice Heat–Melia Friend (most improved), Peyton Sisco (most dedicated), Ainsley Matheson (most sportsmanlike), and Sayler Easton (MVP);
•Novice Ice Devils–Erika Danylchuk (most improved), Aelise Lucas-Engberg (most dedicated), Jorja Guertin (most sportsmanlike), and Makayla Gibbs (MVP);
•Atom Black Knights–Emma Wilson (most improved), Kali Tessier (most dedicated), Savannah Marchuk (most sportsmanlike), and Kallie Boshey (MVP);
•Atom Leafs–Shayna Shute (most improved), Chloe Allen (most dedicated), Davilyn Miller (most sportsmanlike), and Logan McPherson (MVP);
•PeeWee Venom–Ayla Anderson (most improved), Hayden Allam (most dedicated), Monika Ruppenstein (most sportsmanlike), and Elizabeth Cousineau/Piper Miller (co-MVP);
•Bantam Borderland Blazers–Camille Tucker (most improved), Kathryn Fischer/Makenna Hill (co-most dedicated), Shay Mannausau (most sportsmanlike), and Isabelle Taylor (MVP);
•Bantam Thunderbolts–Isabella Hyatt (most improved), Paiten Kinnear (most dedicated), Martina Woods/MacKenna Bruyere (co-most sportsmanlike), and Savannah McGinnis (MVP);
•Bantam Leafs–Isabella Fortes (most improved), Jersey Masson (most dedicated), Marti Woods (most sportsmanlike), and Isabelle Taylor (MVP);
•Midget Screaming Eagles–Kassidy MacDonald (most improved), Kylee Keith (most dedicated), Danielle Cridland (most sportsmanlike), and Macey Weir (MVP);
•Midget Snipers–entire team (most improved), Hailey Tucker (most dedicated), Shaelyn Tuesday (most sportsmanlike), and Maighyn DeGagne (MVP);
•Midget Leafs–Kylee Keith (most improved), Ali Jackson (most dedicated), Taylor Turcotte (most sportsmanlike), and Macey Weir (MVP).
“Congratulations to all winners and congratulations to all players on a great season,” the FFGWHA said in a press release.
“And thank you to all our coaches, trainers, managers, conveners, and other volunteers that helped to make the season a complete success,” it added.
In related news, the FFGWHA on Monday announced its graduating player bursary award recipients.
Players named from the Midget program include Danielle Cridland, Maighyn DeGagne, Bryanna Dustin, Madison Morrison, Hailey Tucker, and Macey Weir.
The alumni from the Muskie girls’ hockey program also receiving the honours were Jenna Clendenning, Katelin Gurniak, Annalise (CC) Hayes, Kelsey Langtry, and Lillie Mackinnon.
These awards only are able to happen because of the outstanding community support for the FFGWHA’s “Radio Bingo” program.
Over the past three years, the FFGWHA has awarded $19,000 in graduating player bursary awards.