FFGWHA hands out year-end awards


With another great season in the books, the Fort Frances Girls’/Women’s Hockey Association honoured the efforts of its players at its annual year-end awards banquet on Sunday evening at the Memorial Sports Centre.
Here is a complete list of the winners from each team:
•Novice Heat–Peyten Ducharme (most improved), Melia Friend (most dedicated), Peyton Arpin (most sportsmanlike), and Gianna Gushulak (MVP);
•Novice Wolves (Ma’iingan)–Ava Burns (most improved), Kinsley McCoy (most dedicated), Cedar Bruyere (most sportsmanlike), and Jorja Guertin (MVP);
•Novice Rookie of the Year–Chiles Perreault
•Atom Storm–Serenity Van Dulmen (most improved), Sayler Easton (most dedicated), Harper Woolsey (most sportsmanlike), and Emma Wilson (MVP);
•Atom Herricanes–Autumn Smeeth (most improved), Rayna Whitefish (most dedicated), Kalie Tessier (most sportsmanlike), and Davilyn Miller (MVP);
•Atom Leafs–Shaylynn Whitecrow (most improved), Chloe Allen (most dedicated), Kali Tessier (most sportsmanlike), and Rayna Whitefish (MVP);
•PeeWee Attack–Jaycee Sheppard (most improved), Brooklyn Machura (most dedicated), Hayden Allam (most sportsmanlike), and Emma Bodnarchuk (MVP);
•PeeWee Scorpions–Myla Perreault (most improved), Elena Copenace (most dedicated), Harper Gunderson (most sportsmanlike), and Julia Guertin (MVP);
•PeeWee Leafs–Julia Guertin (most improved), Logan McPherson (most dedicated), Harper Gunderson (most sportsmanlike), and Piper Miller (MVP);
•Bantam Devils–Alicia Kress (most improved), Kayleigh Walton/Tia Walton (co-most dedicated), Elizabeth Cousineau (most sportsmanlike), and Shay Mannausau (MVP);
•Bantam Goonies–Jorja Pope (most improved), Harper Amdahl (most dedicated), Teagan Mosbeck (most sportsmanlike), and Monika Ruppenstein (MVP);
•Midget Snipers–Rianna Roach (most improved), Abby Roach (most dedicated), Janelle Allan/Jocelyn Allen (co-most sportsmanlike), and Ziggy Skead (MVP).
The FFGWHA also announced its graduating player bursary award recipients on Sunday evening.
The award winners were Carlee-Rae Beazley, Taylor Turcotte, Rianna Roach, Hannah McKee-George, Muskies Emily Kaun and Alex Gartzke, Callie Loveday, and Hannah DeGagne.