Fastball leagues present awards


The best and brightest that the local fastball leagues had to offer this season were celebrated Saturday night as the men’s and women’s leagues held their combined awards banquet at the Stratton Recreation Centre.
Travis Tom, with the back-to-back Rainy River District Fastball League champion Fort Frances Braves, was king as he was named the Gerry Harasymyk Award winner as MVP.
Tom was stellar for the Braves this season, winning the lone game he started at pitcher in the regular season before tossing a no-hitter in an 11-0 drubbing of the Dawson Tigers in the second-and-deciding game of the RRDFL final back on Aug. 21.
He also hit a pair of homers in that lopsided victory.
James Yerxa (Sabaskong Lakers) was selected as rookie-of-the-year while Rob McGinnis (Windey’s Warriors) captured the Shane Jarvis Memorial Award for sportsmanship.
Tim Windigo (Warriors) was the Umpire’s Choice winner while league president Vaughan Wilson (Barwick Blue Knights) was named manager-of-the-year.
There was a three-way tie for home-run king this year, with Cole Tymkin (Braves), Brandan Pratt (Blue Knights), and Vaughan Wilson (Blue Knights) slugging five dingers apiece.
The top players also were chosen at each position, including Jeff Morrison (Tigers) at pitcher, Tymkin (Braves) at catcher, DJ Mosbeck (Blue Knights) at first base, Mike Anderson (Blue Knights) at second, and Brad Wakefield (Blue Knights) at third.
Tom (Braves) received the honour at shortstop while Aaron Caul (Sight & Sound Wolves), Ryder Woolsey (Blue Knights), and Faron Morriseau (Couchiching Raiders) were named as the top outfielders.
Stu Allen (Warriors) was named as top utility player.
On the women’s side, Red Gut Babes’ catcher Kayla Windigo was named MVP.
Windigo helped lead the Babes to the Rainy River District Women’s Fastball League championship final this season, where they were defeated 12-4 by the three-time champion Fort Frances Her-icanes.
Darcy Jones (Couchiching Lady Raiders) took home the sportsmanship award while Kayla Allan (Manitou T-Birdies) was named rookie-of-the-year.
Erin Oltsher (Emo Renegades) was named manager-of-the-year, with Brian Hook (Dawson Tigers) being tabbed as coach-of-the-year.
Kaily Greengrass (Fort Frances Mud Dogs) was this season’s home-run queen, slugging a league-best six round-trippers.
Top players also were chosen at each position, including Darcy Smith (Northwest Bay Beavers) at pitcher, Laurie Brown (Renegades) at first base, Beulah Chartrand (Babes) at second, Dana Ward (Her-icanes) at third, and Stephanie Legree (Lady Raiders) at shortstop.
Taylor Windego (Babes), Ashley Kelly (Sabaskong Tebinaak), and Charmaine Hunter (Tigers) were named as the top outfielders.
Janelle Andy (Renegades) was tabbed as the best utility player.