Early deadline nearing for bass entries

Entries for the 2007 Fort Frances Canadian Bass Championship, which will be held next July 26-28, must be received by Sept. 30.
The entry fee is $1,250 per two-person team.
There is a 100 percent payback (i.e., the total of the entry fees are returned to the anglers as cash prizes).
Entry forms are available at the Fort Frances Times office (116 First St. E.) on Monday-Friday during regular business hours and online at www.canadianbass.com
Captains of teams that finished in the top 90 in 2006 are guaranteed a spot in next year’s tournament. But captains must complete a 2007 top 90 entry form and turn it in, along with a $250 deposit, by the end of the month.
If a captain chooses not to compete in 2007, the team number will be offered to his/her 2006 partner.
The 91st spot in 2007 was sold by silent auction during the 2006 tournament. The winning bidder was the team of Ted Heyens (Stratton) and Leo Heyens (Kenora).
Coincidentally, the Heyens brothers finished in 91st spot this past July.
Teams from #92 to #130 are filled by random draw. Interested anglers must fill out a 2007 random draw entry form and turn it in, along with a $250 deposit, by the end of the month.
The deposit only will be processed upon confirmation of participation in the 2007 tournament.
A list of 2007 draw entrants can be seen on www.canadianbass.com
Teams numbered #131 to #137 are offered to the 2006 winners of regional tournaments.
The winning teams from Castin’ For Cash (Lake Despair), Kenora Bass International (KBI), Atikokan Bass Classic, Morson Bass International, International Falls Bass Championship, and the Rainy Lake Fall Bass Classic must compete as they won their 2006 tournament in order to qualify for these spots.
If the winning teams of the 2006 regional tournaments choose not to compete in the 2007 FFCBC, those spots will be filled by random draw.
The random draw for spots starting at Team #92 will take place Wednesday, Oct. 4. The draw will be telecast live on Shaw Cable starting at 7 p.m.
FFCBC chairman Jim Cumming, angler registration director Doug Cain, and tournament emcee Paul Morrison will host the draw.
Random draw results will be posted on www.canadianbass.com by noon the following day.
Anglers will be contacted in the order that their names are drawn to confirm participation in the 2007 tournament. Once the field of 137 teams has been verified, a waiting list will be posted.
The waiting list is composed of the remaining anglers in the order that their names were drawn.
Anglers on the waiting list, in the order that they appear on it, will be given the opportunity to replace any team that scratches.