District players vie for bridge title

The Coffee Landing Metro in International Falls provided the venue for the international duplicate bridge tournament held annually in conjunction with Icebox Days.
The Thursday night winners were U.S. Rainy Lake residents Ralph and Cathy Awe (67 points), followed by Falls duo Rita Ruelle and Toni Shermoen (60 points) and Emo pair Henry and Tatty Kemper (59 points).
Friday evening’s frigid weather reduced participation to four tables of hardy diehards.
Leading scorers were U.S. organizers Byrne and Carole Johnson (51 points), international pair of Joe Gust and Walter Horban (49+ points), and Fort Frances duo Eloise Camirand and Denyse DeCaire.
Overall prize winners were the Awes (106 points), the Johnsons (101+ points), and Gust-Horban (98+ points).