DePiero breaks into win column


The summer racing season had kept Matt DePiero out in the cold when it came to the winners’ circle—until last weekend.
The Fort Frances resident surged to victory in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds feature race last Saturday at Emo Speedway to earn his first win of the Borderland Racing Association campaign.
DePiero started from the No. 3 hole in the feature, but worked his way to the front and held off challenges from runner-up Chuck Lambert of the Fort and season points leader Christopher Leek of Emo, who placed third.
The win moved DePiero into 10th place in the division with 322 points. Lambert’s one-spot edge on Leek moved the Fort racer to within three points (478-475) of top spot in the category.
Meanwhile, Ron Westover of Devlin continued his season-long domination of the Street Stock class with his second feature victory in as many weeks and sixth overall this season.
Chris Shine of Devlin was second in the feature, while Jeff Wickstrom of International Falls placed third.
The win extended Westover’s lead in the division even further, as his 518 points puts him 30 clear of second-place Garett Gamsby of Barwick (488), who was 10th in Saturday’s feature. Shine sits well back in third with 447.
Another driver increasing his stranglehold on a division crown was Gavin Paull of Fort Frances, who rallied from the No. 7 starting position to capture his fourth feature race of the year in the Modifieds category.
Paull outlasted runner-up Brian Nelson from International Fallls and last week’s feature winner, Devlin’s Denny Trimble, to take the checkered flag.
The Fort racer’s big night moved him 30 points ahead of Rainy River’s Tyler Brown in second (471-441), with Stratton’s Steve Nordin sitting just a point back of Brown in third spot with 440.
The speedway’s highlight weekend of the year happens this Friday and Saturday as part of the Rainy River District Agricultural Fair.
Racers will not only be competing for valuable series points, but also battling in each division for the Ed Rea Memorial Trophy, which will go to the racer in each class who has the highest average finish during the two-night affair.
Hot laps get underway both nights at the special time of 6 p.m., with the green light for racing action set to shine at 6:30 p.m.