Curlers honoured at awards presentation

The Fort Frances Curling Club held its annual dinner and awards presentation last Saturday, culminating a successful season which saw local curlers advance all the way to the provincial level
Coach of the year awards went to Rob Roy Donaldson for leading the Muskie boys’ team of Bill Crewson, Chris Matheson, Tyler Bell, Joel Perron, and Matt Gushulak to all-Ontario silver medal in March.
Doris Barton was honoured for coaching the girls’ high school team of Laura McTaggart, Jessica Ross, Shaunna Cuthbertson, Sarah Gushulak, and Allison Cox to NorWOSSA gold.
Raymond Roy also was honoured for his work with the junior club championship team of Scott Gosman, Patrick Kowalchuk, Sarah Gushulak, and Adrian Bondett.
Karen Jackson was named an Honourary life member.
Kathie Jackson’s ladies’ club championship team of Kim Beaudry, Kelly Tolen, Anna Lindholm, and Roz Broman, which also finished fourth at the Scott Tournament of Hearts, and the men’s winning rink of Tim Nordin, Raymond Roy, Clint Barton, and Mike Kjerulf, were also honoured.
Other top teams were:
•the Bantam mixed rink of Matt Gushulak, Chrissie Thomson, Steve Gushulak, and Lindsay Roy;
•the senior men’s rink of Clyde Ditmars, Ron Martinuk, Ken Noble, and Ray Rousseau;
•the men’s rink of Derek Jackson, Dale Jackson, Dave Hughes Jr., Lorne Jackson, and Peter Ledrew; and
•the men’s rink of Nordin, Roy, Barton, Scott Gobeil, and Kjerulf.
Ladies’ league winners included:
•Judy LaBelle, Flo Langtry, Bev Busch, and Maureen Ross (Monday twilight);
•Lois Tabak, Maureen Thomson, Diane Wilson, and Sheryl Laverdure (Tuesday evening);
•Paula Grandaw, Theone Bernard, Maxine Werner, and Millie Ballan (Thursday afternoon); and
•Jackson, Beaudry, Tolen, Lindholm, and Broman (Thursday evening).
Men’s league winners included:
•Nordin, Roy, Barton, and Kjerulf (Monday evening and Wednesday competitive);
•Paul Fraser, Jim Ballard, Dave Evans, and Frank Strain (Wednesday twilight);
•Dave Broman, Larry Gustafson, Rob Gushulak, and John Sutton (Wednesday social); and
•Ron Bridgeman, Rick Sekulich, Tyler Bell, and John Bagacki (Thursday twilight).