Cole rallies to defend title

Squash players from across the region competed in the 20th-annual La Place Rendez-Vous tournament over the weekend at the Memorial Sports Centre.
Darrell Cole (Thunder Bay) successfully defended his men’s ‘A’ title, rallying from a 2-0 deficit in the best-of-five match to beat 11-time champion Bob Shine (Thunder Bay).
In the ladies ‘B’ final, Kate Arpin (Thunder Bay) upset two-time defending champ Mary-Beth Tkachuk (Fort Frances), who has captured the title nine times overall, 3-1.
In other action, Jill Skogberg (Thunder Bay) became the first women in the event’s 20-year history to win the men’s ‘B’ division crown.
Skogberg defeated fellow Thunder Bay squasher Hamza Malik 3-1 in the final.
Craig Clifford (Winnipeg) swept Eric Wetendorf (Kenora) 3-0 to take the men’s ‘C’ division title while Anniss Seid (Fort Frances) finished atop the standings after the five-man round-robin in the men’s ‘D’ division.
Joelle Thorgrimsen (Kenora) won the ladies ‘C’ title while Ryan Brady (Fort Frances) was the top junior at this year’s tournament.