Carlson among 15 Noles to capture All-American honours

Press Release

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.–The College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America announced its All-America award winners last Wednesday. Due to the cancellation of the NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, the CSCAA Board adjusted the selection criteria for each Division.

Five women and 10 from the 14th-ranked men’s team were selected from Florida State, covering 16 individual events and four relays. All relays achieving ‘A’ time standards, in addition to those that qualified for individual events for the NCAA Championships, were awarded the honour.

“I am very proud of our team for what they did this year,” FSU head coach Neal Studd said. “We were really excited to watch our Noles perform at NCAAs. Having those seniors lose their last NCAAs was tough, but the team was able to put things into perspective, and they understand this is bigger than themselves. That is what I am most proud of. We are very excited to have our 15 student-athletes recognized with these honours.”

The 2020 ACC Diver of the Year, senior Molly Carlson (originally from Fort Frances), led the women’s team with three honours, while sophomore Jakub Ksiazek and freshman Peter Varjasi led with men with five.

Women’s All-Americans

  • Ayla Bonniwell (1-Metre Diving, 3-Metre Diving)
  • Molly Carlson (1-Metre Diving, 3-Metre Diving, Platform Diving)
  • Aryanna Fernandes (100 Fly)
  • Nina Kucheran (100 Breast)
  • Sydney Vanovermeiren (400 I.M.)

Men’s All-Americans

  • Griffin Alaniz (100 Back, 200 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay)
  • Izaak Bastian (100 Breast, 400 Medley Relay)
  • Joshua Davidson (1-Metre Diving, 3-Metre Diving)
  • Aziz Ghaffari (800 Free Relay)
  • Jakub Ksaizek (50 Free, 200 Free, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay, 800 Free Relay)
  • Max McCusker (100 Fly, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay)
  • Maxim Polianski (200 Fly)
  • Vladimir Stefanik (400 Free Relay, 800 Free Relay)
  • Cameron Thatcher (1-Metre Diving)
  • Peter Varjasi (200 Free, 200 Free Relay, 400 Free Relay, 800 Free Relay, 400 Medley Relay)