Called to the Hall

The Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame inducted nine new entrants at its banquet event on Saturday. Athletes inducted were the late Danny Johnson, Kelly Lyons, and Danny Smith. Builders included Dave Egan, the 1991-’93 Fort Frances Curling Club Committee, the late Herman Guimond, and Terry Ogden. Two teams were also inducted, the 1989 Plaza Lanes Bantam Girls Bowling teamm who won a national gold medal, and 1986 Fort Frances High- school Muskies who won provincial gold. Highlights of the night included the drum and songs from the Neverwash Creek drum in honour of the indigenous inductees, as well as a draw for a Hockey Hall of Fame jersey autographed by Dave Andreychuk. Inductees, their friends and relatives travelled from near and far to be at the event, with some coming from as far away as British Columbia to be there in support or in memory of their loved ones being admitted into the Hall of Fame.

For more information on this and previous years’ inductees you can visit the Fort Frances Sports Hall of Fame display at the Memorial Sports Complex. If you would like to nominate someone for induction into the Hall, nomination forms are also available at the Sports complex. -Allan Bradbury photos