B•Macs claim consolation crown

The local B•Macs won the consolation final at a Bantam ‘AA’ hockey tournament in Thunder Bay on Sunday by downing the Neebing Hawks 5-2.
A.J. Tucker, Kevin Webb, Jordy Shannon, Bryce Witherspoon, and Kris Esselink all scored in the win.
The B•Macs reached the consolation final after beating the North End Flyers (Thunder Bay) by that same 5-2 count on Saturday.
Ian Ottertail, Patrick Wensley, Andrew Bynkoski, Thomas Rose, and Tucker all scored in that one.
Earlier Saturday, Webb had a hat trick to help lead the B•Macs past the St. Vital Victorias 7-4. Ottertail netted a pair while Cole Hayward and Dave Starling added singles.
The B•Macs were relegated to the ‘B’-side of the tournament after opening with a pair of losses Friday–4-2 to the Thunder Bay Beavers and then 4-1 to the Thunder Bay Hornets.
After a scoreless first period against the Beavers, Ryan Blovin scored at 8:42 of the second to give the Thunder Bay squad a 1-0 lead heading into the third.
They increased their lead to 2-0 before the teams traded a pair of goals in the game’s waning minutes.
Webb scored both goals in the loss.
Tucker scored the lone B•Macs goal in the loss to the Hornets.