Big medal haul for Taekwondo locals

When there’s only two competitions a year to get your kicks in, you’d better be in fighting form when it counts.
The Northwest Taekwondo team from Fort Frances showed excellent timing in coming through with 17 medals overall at the 20th-annual Central Canadian Taekwondo Championships in Winnipeg.
This marked the 12th year that Northwest Taekwondo has participated in the event—and their run of significant success continued as both veteran and first-time performers did their club proud.
Sonja Schulzki (blue belt), Tyler Abma (red belt), and Natapa Phruthisaran Phong (yellow belt) collected gold in the forms competition while Sam Copenace (green belt) was the lone silver-medal winner for the local club in that division.
Bronze medals in forms went to Carissa Wilson (green belt), Nelson Bragg (green stripe), Richard Schulzki (blue belt), Adam Gruttner (yellow belt), Corey Fehr (black belt), and Timo Brielmann (black belt).
In full-contact fighting, Abma and Hailey Fehr overwhelmed their rivals to win gold medals in their respective categories while Sonja Schulzki came through with a silver.
Richard Schulzki, Bragg, Phruthisaran Phong, and Corey Fehr managed to bring home bronze medals.
“I was very proud of the efforts of the competitors,” said local instructor Ken Anderson. “Quite a few of them competed for the first time. Some had to fight against much higher belts and still did very well.”
Northwest Taekwondo will return to Winnipeg in April for their only other meet of the season, with Anderson predicting he will have an even larger contingent for that event—perhaps more than 40 altogether.
The local club meets at the Couchiching Recreation Centre every Monday and Wednesday from 5:15-6:15 p.m., as well as at Fort Frances High School on those same days from 7-8 p.m. and 8:15-9:20 p.m.
The club also has had to add an extra weekly session in Stratton in its 15th year of giving lessons there. Classes run every Tuesday and Thursday from 7-8 p.m. and 8:15-9:20 p.m. at Our Lady of the Way School.