Bantam league hands out hardware

The local Bantam house league held its annual wind-up Monday night and announced the following award winners for the three teams:
•Canadian Tire (coaches Rick Pruys and Ralph Lahti)—Ryan York (Most Improved), Steven Pruys (Most Dedicated), and Kevin Tysz (Most Sportsmanlike);
•Holmlund Financial Maple Leafs (coaches John Pierce, Myrna Romaniuk, and Jack McFayden)—Jordan Bale/Kurtis Carlson (Most Improved), David Pierce (Most Dedicated), and Jon-Paul Galbraith (Most Sportsmanlike; and
•Oddfellows Senators (coaches Scott McPherson and Derek Perreault)—Mathew Danielson (Most Improved), Brett Perreault/Tyler Starling (Most Dedicated), and Justin Allen (Most Sportsmanlike).
League awards also were handed out:
•Don Lovisa Trophy (Most Valuable Player)—David Pierce (Holmlund Maple Leafs);
•Harvey Shute Trophy (Most Dedicated)—Brett Perreault (Oddfellows) and Steven Pruys (Canadian Tire); and
•Joe Bolzan Sr. Trophy (Most Valuable Goalie—Josh Leatherdale (Canadian Tire).