Baird, Pattison tops at combined bonspiel


The Tirzah Baird and Rod Pattison rinks were the winners of the men’s and ladies’ combined bonspiel held over the weekend at the Fort Frances Curling Club.
Team Baird, which also was comprised of Sam Clifford, Carley Busch, and Sarah Wreggitt, topped the ‘A’ event on the ladies’ side.
Team Pattison, which also featured Raymond Roy, Greg Allan, and Dave Broman, claimed the men’s ‘A’ crown.
Second place went to Team Donna Bohler and Team Isaac Keffer, respectively.
The ladies’ ‘B’ side was won by Team Hailey Beaudry, with Team Dana Kosowick as the runner-up.
The men’s ‘B’ side was won by Team Adam Bolen, with Team Doug Herr nabbing second place.
The club would like to send out a huge thanks to all teams that came out to curl and support the club, as well as to the club manager, the ice techs, and kitchen and bar staff as the weekend wouldn’t be possible without them.
Also, a special thanks to everyone who donated to the silent auction table.
• • •
The Fort Frances PeeWee ‘AA’ Canadians doubled the Thunder Bay Queens 4-2 in the final of a tournament in Thunder Bay over the weekend.
The Canadians went through the event unbeaten in six games with five wins and a tie.
The Emo Express, meanwhile, tied one of four games played in the same division.
The Fort Frances Wu Warriors lost 4-2 to the Nipigon Elks in the Bantam ‘A’ final of the same tournament.
Fort Frances Green’s Predators compiled a 2-1-1 record while the Fort Frances Holmlund Leafs went 0-4.
And in the PeeWee ‘A’ division, the Fort Frances Firemen tied once and lost three while the Times Tigers went 1-2-1.