Atom teams take top spots in Thunder Bay

Three local Atom house league teams made a splash at their last tournament of the season at the Elks Classic in Thunder Bay last weekend.
The Firemen Flames captured the tourney title while the Causeway Cougars and Green’s Predators came home with third- and fourth-place, respectively.
“It was a great way to finish the season,” said Firemen co-coach Dennis Calder. “It was a pretty successful year for everybody.”
The Flames went 6-0 during the round-robin and playoffs of the 14-team ‘A’ tourney, capping the weekend off with a 2-0 win over the West End Bruins in the final.
Irv Lockman netted both goals late in the third period assisted by Alex Shoemaker. In the semi-finals earlier, Justin Brown’s second-period goal was the difference to lift them over the Cougars 3-2.
Blake Wepruk and Lockman also scored for the Flames while Travis Stromness and George Halverson replied for Causeway.
The Flames had opened play with a 5-0 win over White River. Then they went on to blank the Neebing Red Wings 9-0, edge the North End Flames 4-2, and dump Westfort NAPA 5-1 before facing the Cougars.
Lockman led the team with 14 points (10 goals/four assists), earning him honours as the tourney’s “best forward.” Faron Morriseau chipped in nine points (four goals/five assists).
Flames netminder Theron Holden was named “best goalie” on the weekend.
The Cougars went on to nip Green’s 2-1 in the third-place game. Steven Beck and Steven Williams scored for Causeway, with Josh Sigurdson netting the Predators’ only goal.
(The other Cougars’ game scores were unavailable).
The Predators had beaten Neebing and Elks Power Skating by identical 4-1 scores, then doubled Northwood 4-2 before losing to Nipigon 2-0 in pool play.
Then they lost 2-1 to the Bruins in the semi-finals, with Jared Sandelovich notching their lone goal.
Predators’ forward Josh Sigurdson tallied six points (four goals/two assists) to pace his team while Jordyn Walton added three goals.
Ben Morrisseau was named “best defenceman” on the weekend to complete the Fort Frances sweep.
All five Atom ‘A’ teams (including the Gillons’ Sharks and the MECBulldogs) will wrap up their house league season here Saturday with a wind-up and awards banquet.