Athletics banquet goes digital

Ken Kellar

The student athletes of Fort Frances High School may not have played through to the end of their seasons, but they will still get the recognition they deserve at the annual Athletics Banquet, even if it comes in a new format.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic and related shutdowns, including schools and many event spaces in the province, the school was unable to hold a traditional banquet for its athletes this year. But in an effort to recognize their achievements in spite of these restrictions, organizers decided that the banquet would move online.

The new 2020 Athletics Banquet came in the form of an online video this year, hosted virtually by FFHS student athletes Jamie Spencer and Jacob Albright. The video was released last night and features words of congratulations from a number of administrators, teachers and coaches, including vice-principal Corey Smith, who acknowledged the difficult year athletes face, as well as their accomplishments during that time.

“I’m recording live from home because of this unconventional school year, but that doesn’t diminish all the athletic performances that we saw this year,” Smith said.

“We had a very interesting school year, but it started off with a wonderful performance from our cross-country athletes sending a handful of athletes to OFSAA down south, as well as our football team winning their first championship in decades. We had some other OFSAA performances by the Senior Girls volleyball team and some NorWASSA championships from some of the Junior teams as well.”

The video then presented the list of awards and winners, interspersed with video from coaches and teachers highlighting each recipient. The athletics banquet presentation ended with a slideshow of photos and achievements of the various high school sports team from the past year. The 2020 Athletics Award Banquet video is available to watch on YouTube.

• MVP    Caleb Fernandez

Cross Country
• MVP    Trent Wilson

Football Overall
• MVP    Brady Meeks & Sean Huziak

Jr Boys Volleyball
• MVP    Andros Bruyere

Sr Boys Volleyball
• MVP – Horban Award    Caleb Allan & Mike Vanderaa

Jr Girls Basketball
• Outstanding Contribution    Ayiana Gagne
• MVP    Heaven States

Sr Girls Basketball
• Outstanding Contribution    Alina Eldridge
• MVP – Patti-Jo Reid Award     Grace Petsnick

Jr Boys Basketball
• MVP & Outstanding Contribution –
Tim Callaghan Memorial Trophy   
Brennan Jourdain

Sr Boys Basketball
• MVP                               Wyatt Richards,
Sean Huziak, Mike Vanderaa

Jr Girls Volleyball
• MVP – Horban Award    Cierra Ogden

Sr Girls Volleyball
• MVP – Patti-Jo Reid Award    Jamie Spencer
• PHD (Persistence, Hustle, Determination)            Aurora Hutton

Figure Skating Club
• MVP & Outstanding
Contribution                  Hallee Nugent,
Erica Lemelin
• Northwest Taekwondo Most Valuable Contribution of a FFHS Student    Anna Johnson

Girls Curling
• MVP    Jillian Cousineau

Mixed Curling
• MVP    Braydon Sabbe

Boys Curling
• MVP    Owen Richies

• Outstanding Contribution    Ashley Payne

Boys Hockey
• Dan Johnson Memorial Trophy   
Peyton Avis
• Bert Egan Memorial Award   
Connor Nelson
• Rod Cain Memorial Trophy     
Brady Bodnarchuk
• Randy Roach Memorial Trophy   
Jace Jackson
• Al Freeman Memorial Award   
Mikel Ward
• Rookie of the Year    Jacob Albright
• MVP – Barnie Maher Award    Reed Bodnar

Girls Hockey
• Most Improved Player    Abbie Kenny
• Most Sportsmanlike Player    Katrina Koomans
• Most Dedicated Player    Issy Taylor
• Rookie of the Year    Piper Cross
• Coaches Award    Marti Woods
• Scott Clendenning Award   
Kamryn Sandelovich
• MVP    Jill Calder

Nordic Skiing
• Most Improved    Kayli Machura
• MVP    Emma Toriseva