Town receives Moffat Fund allocation

By Merna Emara
Staff Writer

The Town of Fort Frances has received a $97,000 charitable grant from the Winnipeg Foundation to support non-profit and charitable organizations, town council reported at Monday’s meeting.

This grant is a contribution from the Moffat Family Fund which aims to support and advance economic, social, physical and intellectual well-being of children and families in the community.

Coun. Mike Behan, who also sits on the steering committee, said the money is definitely most welcome because it helps local organizations provide valuable programs that benefit children and families living in Fort Frances.

“This is tremendous news. If I’m not mistaken, I believe this is the largest amount yet granted to the Town of Fort Frances from this fund. I’m sure I can speak for all of council in thanking the Moffat Family Fund and Winnipeg Foundation for their continued generosity year in and year out,” Behan said. “I know our community is extremely grateful for this awesome financial support each year.”

Last year’s allocation was $93,750. Funding recipients were KidSport Fort Frances, Borderland Pride, Salvation Army Fort Frances Corps, the NWHU Nutrition on Weekend Program, Fort Frances Community Garden and Kids Club, Riverside Foundation for Health Care, Sunset Water Sports, Fort Frances Volunteer Bureau, Community Living Fort Frances and District, Friends of the Fort Frances Public Library and 908 Rainy Lake Squadron – Royal Canadian Air Cadets.

Karyn Haney, deputy clerk, wrote in a report to council that the Moffat Fund grant requests will be accepted from 8:30 a.m. on Feb. 7, 2022 to March 11, 2022 at 4 p.m.

“Our committee will submit its recommendations to the Winnipeg Foundation by April 15, 2022. To be considered for funding, applicants must be a charitable, non-profit organization with a valid Canadian charity number,” Haney wrote in the report. “Successful applicants from prior years who have failed to complete their final reporting obligations will not be considered.”

The Moffat Fund Steering Committee also includes Mayor June Caul, Coun. John McTaggart, Linda Hamilton from Community Chest, Shelly Shute form the Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board, CAO Faisal Anwar and deputy clerk Karyn Haney.