Top citizen to be named


The next “Citizen of the Year” will be named tomorrow following a special committee of the whole meeting.
The “Citizen of the Year” selection committee met to review and discuss the six nominations which were submitted by the Oct. 26 deadline, and forwarded its recommendation to council.
Council will discuss the recommendation during a brief in-camera meeting tomorrow at 11:45 a.m., then is expected to hold a brief council meeting in order to pass a resolution approving the recommendation.
As in past years, the “Citizen of the Year” will be asked to be in the “Parade of Lights” this Saturday (Nov. 24).
He or she then will be formally honoured at the town’s annual appreciation banquet Nov. 30 at La Place Rendez-Vous.
The selection committee is comprised of Linda Hamilton (“Citizen of the Year 2008”), Gord McBride, and Couns. Andrew Hallikas and Paul Ryan.