The Wolf, Rafferty crowned chili champs

A bowl of chili made for the perfect lunch Friday given the damp and rainy weather.
But of the 12 varieties vying in the Great Chili Cook-off, it was local NDP candidate John Rafferty and The Wolf 92.3 Border Rock who took top honours in the competition at Warp 9 from 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m.
The Wolf, whose chefs were Luke Cawston, Leanne Cameron, and Brent Derosiers, took the Fort Frances General Supply People’s Choice Award while Rafferty was the judges’ choice with his vegetarian “Vote for Me” chili and organic corn bread muffins.
The judges were past winner Mike Gerstner, along with Brenda Cox of Beta Sigma Phi and Bill Buschberger of B93.
“It went very well,” said Pam Hawley of the Fort Frances Museum, who hosted the event. “It was very well-received and well-attended.”
About 240 people turned out and more than $1,000 was raised for the museum renovation project from the chili sales. Another $968 was gathered from the cake roulette hosted by Beta Sigma Phi and Robin Wright.
“We had some glitches,” Hawley admitted, citing problems with powering the hot plates. “But we’ll resolve those for next year.”
She added she would like to hold the event again and already has a team sign up for next year.
The other 10 teams included:
•“The Spice of Life Chili”—Heather Hudson, Ramiro Matias, and Dwayne Hunking (Rainycrest Home for the Aged);
•“Hot Off the Press Chili”—Susan Martin and Tanya Cumming (Fort Frances Times);
•“Rusty’s Flying High Chili”—Blaire Ottoson and Trevor Armstrong (Rusty Myers’ Flying Service);
•“Friendship Centre Fusion”—Grant Perreault, Wendy Orchard, Debra Ross, Tracy Jensen (UNFC Alt. Ed. Program, Li’l Eagles, and Akwe:go;
•“Shopper’s Prescription for Chili”—Don Patrick and Patty Stefanick (Shopper’s Drug Mart);
•“Chili Chili Bang Bang, The Source of Heat”—Mike Johnson and Bev Johnson (Howarth’s Home Centre);
•“Credible Edible Chili”—Roy Avis , Glenn Witherspoon, and Deane Cunningham (Team Avis);
•“Visionary Chili”—Bruce Lidkea and Monica Johnson (Drs. Lidkea , Elliott and Lidkea Optometry);
•“Ticking Time Bomb Chili”—Rozanne Evans, Jana Murray, Tammy Yerxa, Dahnis Forsyth, and Heather Dobransky (Bombshell); and
•“Community Living All-Inclusive Chili”—Kim Lepine, Faith Moen, and Wendy DeGagne (Community Living Fort Frances and District).
Hawley thanked the dozen volunteers who helped run the event, the teams, and everyone who attended.