Sedgwick earns award as top librarian


The chief librarian and CEO of the Fort Frances Public Library Technology Centre has been named Public Librarian of the Year by the Ontario Library Boards’ Association.
Margaret Sedgwick is the 2011 winner of the W.J. Robertson Medallion for outstanding leadership in the advancement of public library services in Ontario.
Sedgwick is expected to received the award at the association’s “Super Conference 2011,” to be held Feb. 2-5 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.
William John Robertson was a founding member of the OLBA, and was among the 33 “originals” who established the first constitution at the first annual meeting of the association in April, 1901.
Robertson became the fourth OLBA president in 1905, and was the first trustee to be elected into the position.
Robertson was twice chair of the St. Catharines Free Library Board.
According to the OLBA, this provincial award recognizes and honours significant contributions to the library profession.
The president of the association always presents the medallion at the annual public library awards dinner held in conjunction with the annual “Super Conference.”
The OLBA receives nominations for the award, with selection of the successful candidate based on significant contributions in at least one of the following criteria:
•demonstrated innovation in the advancement of the library profession;
•promotion of library services through any means of dissemination of information;
•demonstrated creative uses of technology in the delivery of library and information services; and
•creation of original work, regardless of the medium used, which substantially contributes to the improvement of library services.